Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My '08 had developed a vibration with humming noise in the rear area at highway speed 60mph and up. It's driven me nuts over the years.
Just also add that I'm a very experienced BMW / Porsche technician by trade and have 4+ decades of under hood time. We've owned it since it
had 29K on the clock and have performed a few mods and continued good maintenance. For some reason around 60K a slight vibration started in the
drive line, over a long period of time slowly got worse.

These SUV's ride, handle really well and make great highway cruisers...……...when everything is in order. So when I had time I did all the usual
stuff - inspected from bumper to bumper, had 2 wheels that were a little out, replaced all of those along with new non-run flat tires
( thanks to everyone here for that suggestion) checked front and rear wheel bearings / play, on and on. I knew I had to pull the front and rear shafts
to check but never seemed to have enough time.....until recently. BTW, this is my wife's DD.

I know that there have been many members here who have gone through the same thing over the years. I researched again and again but could not
find 1 common solution...……….until recently. I happened to find a bulletin from the factory specifically addressing this complaint. Turns out that
the grease that lubricates the male / female splines creeps out of the slip joint over time and collects into the accordion boot crevices. The grease starts
to pool by centrifugal force and that localized pool of grease creates enough weight to cause the issue!

So this past holiday I had enough time to remove it, disassemble and to also check the joints and companion flanges. Sure enough I found a small
pool of grease in the protective boot. I cleaned it all out, checked the joints and then found rear one was just a tad notchy, which is fine for now.