Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a fully built paramount trans, and mopar TCM. Basically under light throttle it shifts all gears by 1600-1800 rpms, so by like 40mph I'm already in 5th. Anyone else experience this? Shifts beautiful WOT, hard as hell and fast, just feel like I'm lugging the motor a lot, then once I'm going boost starts to kick in from the higher load. Just wondering if it's normal with this trans.

·
Premium Member
17,169 Posts
It has NOTHING to do with the transmission. The tranny is dumb as shit. It's the brains aka TCM that controls the tranny. Try resetting your adaptives, then go beat on it for a few pulls hard, then park it and let it idle for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, the TCM stores the adaptives into memory. That's one reason why I've been driving in Autostick for the last 3 years.:lol: I hate the way it drives in D. Autostick is just more fun.

·
Premium Member
5,792 Posts
It has NOTHING to do with the transmission. The tranny is dumb as shit. It's the brains aka TCM that controls the tranny. Try resetting your adaptives, then go beat on it for a few pulls hard, then park it and let it idle for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, the TCM stores the adaptives into memory. That's one reason why I've been driving in Autostick for the last 3 years.:lol: I hate the way it drives in D. Autostick is just more fun.
Thanks Harry!
Yep...the transmission is a dumb mechanical component that takes orders from the TCM which is a slave to the master PCM.
Try what Harrison suggests.
Do remember that the adaptives are only learned in drive.
Bill

·
Registered
857 Posts
yep harrison nailed it,,