Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm somewhat of a noob here. I have read a lot of posts about different exhaust setups, hp losses, low end losses, sounds etc. What I don't understand is why anyone would drop $1100 on an exhaust system that costs you power. Why not just cut out the suitcase and weld in a Magnaflow and some new tips and call it good if the result is the same??

I don't want to waste money and lose power. I'm thinking a local muffler guy can install the Magnaflow and tips for like $200 and remove the resos for a little more.

I do want to do it right though, and I don't mind spending the money on a full exhaust system. I don't want to cut corners on the beast.

Currently I'm running an 09 with intake, catch can, and 170 thermo. I wanna do exhaust and tune in the near future, and in the very distant future I'm thinking Vortech. With all that in mind, which direction should I go exhaust wise? Am I going to need full exhaust and headers with the blower? Is the full exhaust going to sound better? I know headers are a beeaiich to install...are they worth it? Thanks in advance for the input.

BTW, being a former Lightning, Evo, and SRT-10 QC Ram owner...I LOVE MY RIG! 0-60 in 4.3 in an SUV...are u kidding me! Love it!

·
Registered
10,785 Posts
Same reason why I dropped over $1,000 at a bachelor party last year....because it's fun!!!!!!!!!!

·
Has Been
8,532 Posts

·
Registered
11,241 Posts
Hahaha Funny Wade .

·
Registered
6,987 Posts
Exhaust is ok if you like drone or noise but at my age i like quit hehe.

·
Registered
9 Posts