Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, real newbie here still. I've had my '07 for almost 2 months now and loving it. Had a question when it comes to driving on icy roads, mostly icy highways at highway speeds since the conditions are starting to get bad now. I know the front wheels engage only when the rears slip so when I am on the highway doing around 100km/hr and give it too much throttle, is there a chance that I could have my back end go full out on me and find myself doing donuts like on a rear wheel drive? I've had rear wheel drive vehicles with traction control and managed fine on icy highway conditions but have never had 420hp under the hood either so I'm a bit frigid(lol) when it comes to the pedal on slippery road. Wife has a full time AWD suv so I know what that's like to drive and it is a lot different. I know what it's like driving at low speeds when it's icy, but have not gone too fast on the highway when it's somewhat icy. I'm not talking about driving fast, but driving the same speed as everyone else. I feel I'm driving slower, just for the thought of my back end go out on me. Still getting use to driving this beast in the winter conditions with the stock all seasons on. So far, so good, but I've been driving pretty slow when it's slick out. Everyone in all types of vehicles are passing me. Any thoughts? Obviously slower is better, but am I being too paranoid?

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
no issues on icey snow here on the west coast - good tires and i can bomb around with total confidence !

Foot to the floor and I get a bit twisty but the AWD its extremely forgiving.

·
PWR - Boosted & Stroked
8,565 Posts