Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So....I started painting the brakes. I wanted somthing different. Then the Hemi green came to mind so i went with that choice. Things to keep in mind ( i.e. DO ) ...mask properly. Use the painters tape or the green frog tape. If the masking isnt done right then its gonna look crappy. Second, clean the brakes. Then do it again. If there is any grease or dirt or anything it is GAME OVER as the paint wont adhere properly. Take your time. Basically I cleaned and degreased the brakes, masked off and THEN painted. Again take your time and do it right or it will look like doo-doo. Im mega picky on the way my truck looks and I know most of you can relate and u will be rewarded if u do it right. I did 2 coats of primer, 5 coats of color and 4 coats of clear. the pic doesnt do it service but Im telling u the calipers look like GLASS. well worth it......3 more to go. :)

Attachments

·
Registered
2,112 Posts
Looks good! Another good way is to scuff them with a scotchbrite pad, clean with wax&greese remover, then shoot a coat of adhesion promotors. Did or are you clearing over the brembo decal? I did about 3 thin coats of clear, applied decal? Then did 3 more medium coats.. Looked factory.

Good work bro!

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
1,227 Posts
What paint did you use? Like brand? An what color primer?

·
Snail On Board
4,366 Posts
Looks good. You are right, prep time is a priority.

·
Registered
3,772 Posts
Saw this in person and they look great except for a leaf landed on it during the curing process. It left a nice leaf pattern on it. LOL.

·
Registered
5,047 Posts
Saw this in person and they look great except for a leaf landed on it during the curing process. It left a nice leaf pattern on it. LOL.
Thats the worst, you lay down a perfect coat and some shit lands in itf and your just thinking how can I get it out without f-ing up the whole thing :eek:

·
Registered