Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
398 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It was a good run...almost 20,000 Vortech'd miles...stock everything and 6.5 Lbs of boost.

Got a CEL...random misfire, cylinder 7 mispfire. I was just idling when it happened. Rig ran fine, perfectly. I reset and all was good. 10 days later, got the same CEL last night on my way home from the airport. Again, no noise, no roughness.

Today, I pulled out both plugs in cylinder 7...one is gapped fine, the other has a closed gap. I am not a rocket scientist, but I doubt DCX Depot gapped it like this....and I doubt it closed up by itself.

Something did this. What and why?

·
Registered
11,237 Posts
What's your wot afr , might of gone lean previously ???

·
Marathon Man
3,229 Posts
I have to agree. With the colder temps we are seeing lean conditions. Also I'd make sure your BAP is still working.

Since it is still running smoothly. I'd regap the plug and see how it goes. If something broke I'd think you would get the code faster than 10 days of driving.

·
Premium Member
223 Posts
Same thing happened to me, but I never got a CEL, I could just hear the backfire from misfiring in my exhaust. I blew a piston ring on one cylinder, so I ended up purchasing the forged pistons rings and rods....

·
Registered
398 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Aren't both plugs supposed to be 034/035? One of them was the other had NO gap...I could not even slide a piece of paper between the electrode and arm....but it did not look damaged per say...just no gap.

I just put in new 2315 plugs and gapped them at 034/035. I then reset the codes. Fired it up and idled in my garage for several minutes and then went on a short test drive...just to warm it up and check normal drive ability. No CELS...I have not taken the next step.