Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, big time noob here, was wondering if you guys can help me out so i dont mess anything up as i have no experience whatsoever with upgrading car audio.

Anyways, I am looking to upgrade the sound system a bit, and am going to get an aftermarket HU along with it. The plan is to get a JL10W7 and the 500 monoblock amp and i am undecided on the HU, but i am liking what i've read about Pioneers.

Is there anything else that i am missing here that will get the rig bumping and operating efficiently? I plan on eventually upgrading the front and rear speakers too, but the financials are not in place yet.

Any other adapters that i need to be looking at other than the PAC steering wheel control to keep all functionality? Also, is the mounting kit something ill have to buy before i get it installed, or would the place installing it most likely have it for me to purchase?

Any input would be appreciated, please excuse my ignorance. I just want to make sure everything is in place and i am not missing anything before i place the order.

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
the shop installing should have the kit in stock - it will be a general kit for all grand Cherokees and then have different mounts for different style head units within.

what is your reasoning for switching head units ? - not thats its a bad thing but from the sounds of it, you are just after a bit better sounds no ?

have you tried installing either a Hi/Low convertor or a clean sweep ? That way you can run a Sub/amp right off your stock HU

its much cheaper and usually where allot of people start off

Reactions: goalieman3333

·
Registered
5,047 Posts