Compustar Piggy back module? - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK1 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2006-2010) > WK1 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics

WK1 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics Use this section to discuss all topics related to car audio & video, UConnect, navigation & electronics.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2013, 05:04 PM
gitrdun's Avatar
gitrdun gitrdun is online now
One, two, GIT SUM!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,252
Thanks: 22
Thanked 105 Times in 83 Posts
Compustar Piggy back module?

Has anyone seen a piggyback module similar to Drone (by compustar) that you can have mobile assess to your vehicle via a mobile app? It works by using cell phone reception, and you just download an app to start, lock and unlock your vehicle, has their been anything for the jeep with the factory command start module that you just piggy back?
__________________
'09 Jeep GC SRT8 Red Rock,6k hid fogs and high beams with 6 high mod,6k LED Interior,Billet Flat Black Shorty Antenna, Black Rims, Drilled/Slotted R1's w/ StopTechs, Red BT Catch Can, Resonator Delete with Borlas, Johan Tuned, JackHammer Paddle Shifters(first in the world)

'08 Yamaha R6, TwoBrothers Slip On, Fender Eliminator

'71 Volkswagen 1600cc Air Cooled DuneBuggy, now running and kicking ass !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-2013, 04:43 AM
Mongoose9400's Avatar
Mongoose9400 Mongoose9400 is offline
The Traveler
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,220
Thanks: 460
Thanked 664 Times in 513 Posts
Compustar Piggy back module?

I put a Viper Smart Start module on my 07 with factory remote start option. That allowed me access from anywhere with Internet signal to lock, unlock, start/stop engine, panic, paging alerts of system activity. The newest have GPS mapping as well. Other option can be hooked up as well.




Sent from AutoGuide.com App
__________________
Zac
2012 WK2 SRT8 Mineral Gray | BT Catch Can | BT Underhood Goodies | Painted Engine Bay | Bwoody CAI | Custom Washer Setup | Shaved Jeep/Color Matched Liftgate Brow| Chrome Delete | Debadge-ReBadged | 5% Tint All Around | 78% Windshield Tint | Passport 9500ix | TLS Rear Fogs | 5k HID Fogs | 6k LED Running Lights | 8k Bi-Xenon | 6K LED Plate Lights | 6k Interior LED Swap | Borla ATAK | WK1 Borla Reso Swap | Matching eBrake Pedal | Trinity | Modified DS 93 Tune
SOLD 2007 Silver Jeep SRT8

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-27-2013, 06:34 AM
jptaylor2's Avatar
jptaylor2 jptaylor2 is online now
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ft. Gaines,GA/Eufaula,AL
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 132
Thanked 243 Times in 180 Posts
Microsoft has something going, may not be released yet but I saw it at CES and it was pretty damned bad assed
__________________

2008 SRT8*Silver*CAI*Flowmaster*180 tstat*Catch Can*Comp Cams 273*8000k HIDs HI/LOW/FOG*all LED interior*Custom audio*ToonaTooned!!! Paramount Trans!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:38 AM
gitrdun's Avatar
gitrdun gitrdun is online now
One, two, GIT SUM!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,252
Thanks: 22
Thanked 105 Times in 83 Posts
Mongoose what one was compatible with the factory command start?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:53 AM
ekaz's Avatar
ekaz ekaz is offline
Supporting Vendor
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,804
Thanks: 260
Thanked 569 Times in 423 Posts
The Viper Smart Start is what I have in my '11, works great as long as there is some sort of cell signal.
__________________
Join the Caravan for SF10!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SF10caravan
Twitter: @SF10Caravan
Web: sf10caravan.com

2012 300SRT--Mods so far....CMR tune from Toona, tinted taillights, Kooks LTs and high flow cats, soon to be released catback, Mopar lowering springs, HIDs in the driving lights, tinted windows, LMI true CAI, and a bunch of BT bling.
ng.


Powered by PWR Tooned by Johan Blinged by Billet Technologies
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-27-2013, 10:57 AM
gitrdun's Avatar
gitrdun gitrdun is online now
One, two, GIT SUM!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,252
Thanks: 22
Thanked 105 Times in 83 Posts
Ekaz what model did you use?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-27-2013, 11:01 AM
ekaz's Avatar
ekaz ekaz is offline
Supporting Vendor
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,804
Thanks: 260
Thanked 569 Times in 423 Posts
I have the VSM250 cause I installed a Viper alarm at the same time. If you want to keep the factory alarm system and just add the Smart Start, you'll need VSS3000.
You will also most likely need an interface module. I have the DB-ALL in mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-27-2013, 11:44 AM
gitrdun's Avatar
gitrdun gitrdun is online now
One, two, GIT SUM!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,252
Thanks: 22
Thanked 105 Times in 83 Posts
How friendly was the install for you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-27-2013, 12:37 PM
Mongoose9400's Avatar
Mongoose9400 Mongoose9400 is offline
The Traveler
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,220
Thanks: 460
Thanked 664 Times in 513 Posts
Compustar Piggy back module?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gitrdun View Post
Mongoose what one was compatible with the factory command start?
Yes. Can be interfaced to work.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-27-2013, 01:00 PM
ekaz's Avatar
ekaz ekaz is offline
Supporting Vendor
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,804
Thanks: 260
Thanked 569 Times in 423 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gitrdun View Post
How friendly was the install for you?
My friend wired it up for me while I was in Ohio last year, took a bit longer cause he didn't work on too many up to that point. He said isn't anything horrible, just more time consuming because of the push button deal.
Also, that reminds me, the DB-ALL is the only interface that I am aware of that will let you keep the push button. The other ones require you to remove the push button and use the key.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide