Please help. Problems after K&N installation - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK1 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2006-2010) > WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service

WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service If you are having some problems with your Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 and need assistance in troubleshooting and diagnosing the problem, this is the proper place to discuss it. Were you treated fairly or poorly at a dealer? Warranty issues? Let us know.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2012, 03:31 PM
SRT8-Brazil SRT8-Brazil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pomerode, SC
Posts: 21
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Please help. Problems after K&N installation

Hello!
Today I have installed my K&N Aircleaner on my 2006 6.1 SRT8 but something must have gone terribly wrong.

The installation itself was not that hard, but for some reason when I wanted to do the first test, I encountered some problems:

- engine-signal-light on the dashboard is on
- engine will not go over 4000 RPM and keeps stuttering
- Even with a cold engine the cooling-fan is running at full speed.

What have I done wrong?
The only observation I have to make is about the air-intake-temperature sensor. It was very hard to take it out of the original air-tube, so I had to use some force. Might it be broken? No visible damage on the sensor, but maybe by twisting it out of its original place, perhaps it got damaged internally.

Anybody can give me any advice? Is there anything else that I could have overseen?

Thanks for you time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-12-2012, 03:40 PM
hotrodcalvert's Avatar
hotrodcalvert hotrodcalvert is offline
Senior Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 907
Thanks: 432
Thanked 156 Times in 132 Posts
If its throwing a service light, read it with a diablo or go to a local autoparts store and have them read it for you, once you know the code, it will be easier to diagnose
__________________
Colby

The "Silver Bullet" ---- 2006 Jeep SRT8 - Gone but definitely not forgotten
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-12-2012, 03:42 PM
SRT8-Brazil SRT8-Brazil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pomerode, SC
Posts: 21
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks for your reply, but I am living in the middle of nowhere in Brazil. Will be hard to find anybody with this equipment and the next Jeep-Dealer is pretty far away.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to SRT8-Brazil For This Useful Post:
hotrodcalvert (12-12-2012)
  #4  
Old 12-12-2012, 03:46 PM
hotrodcalvert's Avatar
hotrodcalvert hotrodcalvert is offline
Senior Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 907
Thanks: 432
Thanked 156 Times in 132 Posts
Well if you dont have a local autoparts store that has an OBD-II scanner, then yes unfortunately, a trip to the dealership may be required, but they shouldnt charge you for just a code read..............the part about you not being able to go over 4K rpm, is that while driving or in park?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-12-2012, 04:15 PM
SRT8-Brazil SRT8-Brazil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pomerode, SC
Posts: 21
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
It was in parking. I didn't have the courage yet to drive. Actually I cannot drive it right now because the car is undergoing some cosmetical work on the painting and any dirt I would pick on the road would do bad to this work. This will take 2 more days so If somebody could for example confirm that the sensor is the cause of the problems I could at least organize spareparts for the time being.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-12-2012, 04:20 PM
bushmaster3000's Avatar
bushmaster3000 bushmaster3000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 486
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 37 Posts
Start by asking yourself what did I change? Usually human error some where.
__________________
~~~~~ Special Thanks to~~~~
Skip at Demon Performance
Bada$$ Tuner Johan!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-12-2012, 04:27 PM
AROD's Avatar
AROD AROD is offline
Major Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 50
Thanked 96 Times in 83 Posts
Your engine wont rev above 4k in park.

Did you touch the sesnor at all with bare hands ? - was it dirty at all ?

Try disconnecting your Neg. battery teminal, pump your brakes 4-5 times then reconnect and try to start. If you get another CEL you likely have a bad sensor.

was this a cold air intake, ram intake .. something else ?

also, did it come with an extension for the sensor ? - other members have had issues in the wires themselves. Just make sure its plugged all the way in the socket, has clean terminal, and clean sesnor tip ( electrical cleaner works wonders )
__________________
| Eibach/Bilstein - 275/315 Proxes II | R1 Premium Cryo S&D w/Hawks | K00KS LT-DMH | BT-Catch | CAI | Pred | DC Custom |
Innocent victim of the "Buy Now" button.
07' Fully Built STi - Rotated GT35R- 545AWHP on pump
08' Sierra Denali - 6" BDF Lift

Last edited by AROD; 12-12-2012 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to AROD For This Useful Post:
Tim H Calgary (12-12-2012)
  #8  
Old 12-12-2012, 05:32 PM
SRT8-Brazil SRT8-Brazil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pomerode, SC
Posts: 21
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
@ bushmaster: I went over this like three times and the only thing I came up with was the sensor.


@Arod: I will try this tomorrow. I think that I have touched the sensor with the bare hands because when It didn't want to get out, I was reaching with my hand into the tube to find out how it might be stuck.

What I have installed is a cold air intake. No rewiring. All "plug and play".

I have already doublechecked the conectors but I will have a closer look at the censor-tip. It looks just a little bit "dusty".
If I don't have electric cleaner here, is alcohol alowed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-12-2012, 05:49 PM
AROD's Avatar
AROD AROD is offline
Major Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 50
Thanked 96 Times in 83 Posts
The code may also be due to the fact that your ECU hasn’t yet "learned" that you have a new intake system. If you give it time it will self learn ( to a point ) and hopefully eliminate the code on its own - this usually requires driving around for a day or so.

keep in mind, its best to get a tune whether its custom, or a canned OTS ( off the shelf ) tune that comes with a handheld device such as a predator, trinity etc.

If you plan on keeping the jeep i would suggest picking up a used pred. there are LOTS for sale on here. you can load a CAI tune as well as pull any trouble codes down the road. Its a decent investment for piece of mind. After all, a CEL could be as little as a loose gas cap


EDIT:
*** The reason a tune is a good idea is because when you add a more efficient intake you cause more air flow. Meaning you also need more fuel to compensate** The computer may adjust on its own, but it's hard to be certain.

Last edited by AROD; 12-12-2012 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-12-2012, 06:02 PM
hotrodcalvert's Avatar
hotrodcalvert hotrodcalvert is offline
Senior Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 907
Thanks: 432
Thanked 156 Times in 132 Posts
Yeah like Arod said, a handheld tuner is your best friend. The whole thing about not being able to rev over 4K while sitting still and in park is prolly your factory rev limiter kicking in, so I wouldnt worry about that, you can try unhooking your battery for a few min and hooking it back up to see if that will clear your light, but prolly like he said, unless the sensor was damaged, your truck isnt used to the new abundance of air coming into the intake and hasnt learned how to compensate for it yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems after Bored Throttle Body Installation meeper WK1 Intake/ Exhaust Discussion 15 04-02-2012 06:53 PM
aFe CAI installation T-BoneHemi WK1 Intake/ Exhaust Discussion 9 07-16-2009 12:48 AM
I need some Amp installation help. Grip Grip WK1 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics 11 11-30-2008 06:38 PM
PCM installation.. How to.. maansy WK1 SRT8 General Discussion 1 10-25-2008 05:58 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide