Feels like Engine is Cutting Cylinder(s) - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK1 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2006-2010) > WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service

WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service If you are having some problems with your Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 and need assistance in troubleshooting and diagnosing the problem, this is the proper place to discuss it. Were you treated fairly or poorly at a dealer? Warranty issues? Let us know.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2012, 03:44 PM
bushmaster3000's Avatar
bushmaster3000 bushmaster3000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 486
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 37 Posts
Feels like Engine is Cutting Cylinder(s)

Under mild to high acceleration it feels like the car drops a cylinder(s). If I'm going 70 MPG and stomp it the car downshifts rev's up to like 5K then feels like it drops a cylinder then continues on to its highest RPM, at this point it runs good. Taking off from a dead stop under WOT it gets up to about 4-5 grand and pulls hard but at this RPM it once again starts sputtering and then acts up. Slams to second gear, gets up in RPM and same thing. Feels like its cutting cylinders. At idle sometimes the car feels like it drops a cylinder and my A/F goes way lean. I'm guessing unburnt fuel?

Here's what I've tried:

-Replaced two coils on cylinders that said misfires.
-Pulled all the plugs and made sure they were gapped correctly
-Fuel pressure good
-Ran logs and sent to Johan, said things were good on his side.
-Going to get a cord for my Trinity to plug into my a/f gauge.


So anyone have advice?
-Maybe Camshaft Positioning Sensor?

Thanks in advanced.
__________________
~~~~~ Special Thanks to~~~~
Skip at Demon Performance
Bada$$ Tuner Johan!

Last edited by bushmaster3000; 12-09-2012 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-09-2012, 03:52 PM
BJB's Avatar
BJB BJB is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wixom, MI
Posts: 3,543
Thanks: 560
Thanked 804 Times in 487 Posts
How do you know the fuel pressure is good?
__________________
Brian


As for tuning there is only really one qualified tuner and he comes from Jersey....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-09-2012, 03:52 PM
nyjoed's Avatar
nyjoed nyjoed is offline
GOING TWIN SNAIL STATUS
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Westchester, N.Y.
Posts: 5,072
Thanks: 369
Thanked 322 Times in 247 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to nyjoed
belt slipping? not sure that would cause a misfire tho?
__________________
2010 silver Jeep SRT8 W/ opts 1 and 2 W/ performance audio and nav
~PROCHARGER F1A W/ TIAL WASTEGATE~

*FIRST JEEP RUNNING F1-A PROCHARGER W/ WASTEGATE ON STOCK BLOCK*
BROUGHT TO YOU BY DEMON PERFORMANCE AND TRUESTREET PEROFRMACE
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-09-2012, 03:52 PM
nyjoed's Avatar
nyjoed nyjoed is offline
GOING TWIN SNAIL STATUS
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Westchester, N.Y.
Posts: 5,072
Thanks: 369
Thanked 322 Times in 247 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to nyjoed
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJB View Post
How do you know the fuel pressure is good?
wouldnt it shopw in his fuel pids to johan? or lean a/f?

Last edited by nyjoed; 12-09-2012 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-09-2012, 03:54 PM
Knuckles's Avatar
Knuckles Knuckles is offline
Straight Up Beast SON!!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicagorilla!!
Posts: 16,654
Thanks: 2,567
Thanked 1,063 Times in 867 Posts
What are your pluggs gapped at and how much boost you running?
__________________
Knuckles
Mods: Bwoody CAI/FRI Lil boy Cam/ SW Headers/CORSA exhaust/SLP UD Pulley/Black Ops Autoworks Ported Intake Manny/90MM TB/ Johan aka Diablotoona Custom Tune
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:09 PM
WIPLASH's Avatar
WIPLASH WIPLASH is offline
Elite Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,739
Thanks: 325
Thanked 423 Times in 341 Posts
Tune related?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
__________________

www.dingsracing.com
I'm gettting frustrated with modding
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:17 PM
DemonPerformance's Avatar
DemonPerformance DemonPerformance is offline
Supporting Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Coastal Carolina
Posts: 5,183
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 1,475 Times in 938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJB View Post
How do you know the fuel pressure is good?
He's running a full return style system with twin 405s etc...believe his base is set right at 60~ and is boost ref'd as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyjoed View Post
belt slipping? not sure that would cause a misfire tho?
Can't see it being belt related at his boost level really, only about 9 psi or so

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knuckles View Post
What are your pluggs gapped at and how much boost you running?
Think he's got them down to .032 at about 9psi ish

Quote:
Originally Posted by yungsrt View Post
Tune related?
Everything looks good on the tune side...
__________________
Skip Demon Performance
Sales@DemonPerformance.com
1-888-312-3666
I wonder if they have Outback Steakhouses in the Outback?


2012-2014 Demon Performance Procharger Kits on sale now!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to DemonPerformance For This Useful Post:
Knuckles (12-09-2012)
  #8  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:17 PM
bushmaster3000's Avatar
bushmaster3000 bushmaster3000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 486
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJB View Post
How do you know the fuel pressure is good?
I have a fuel pressure light in the cabin and mechanical regulator.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:33 PM
BJB's Avatar
BJB BJB is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wixom, MI
Posts: 3,543
Thanks: 560
Thanked 804 Times in 487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushmaster3000 View Post
I have a fuel pressure light in the cabin and mechanical regulator.
I have a light inside the cabin too that shows that the boost reference is working and turning the full pump to "race mode" but without a fuel pressure gauge you cant be certain. I had a problem last summer were the fuel tank (custom tank) had a blocked vent and causing a vapor lock. Fuel pressure gauge was one of the ways I found it... And the other way was Jersey told be to let it rip with the gas cap removed!

You really cant depend on any bells or lights. A fuel pressure gauge will tell you a lot. Things happen so fast without it your just guessing. With that being said I still havent been able to log fuel pressure with the trinity.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to BJB For This Useful Post:
Knuckles (12-09-2012)
  #10  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:42 PM
Knuckles's Avatar
Knuckles Knuckles is offline
Straight Up Beast SON!!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicagorilla!!
Posts: 16,654
Thanks: 2,567
Thanked 1,063 Times in 867 Posts
When was the last time the jeep was running fine and since then have you done any work to the Jeep?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone noticed engine cutting out? Delta Victor WK2 SRT8 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 76 12-03-2011 02:04 PM
Engine cutting out, HELP Jred22 WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 41 12-31-2009 10:10 AM
4*4 cutting top rpm WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 6 11-23-2009 06:22 AM
Engine cutting out Cylinder 8 misfire jdoc7 WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 38 09-18-2009 09:37 PM
cutting cookies in snow=check engine light mandan007 WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 6 12-27-2008 07:29 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide