TCM problem perhaps? - Page 3 - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK1 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2006-2010) > WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service

WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service If you are having some problems with your Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 and need assistance in troubleshooting and diagnosing the problem, this is the proper place to discuss it. Were you treated fairly or poorly at a dealer? Warranty issues? Let us know.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-07-2012, 05:49 AM
SPEEDDEMON's Avatar
SPEEDDEMON SPEEDDEMON is online now
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 1,298
Thanks: 498
Thanked 232 Times in 190 Posts
Yes, just as I have mentioned earlier on in this thread, changing TCM's can apparently corrupt the PCM. When the PCM is reformatted in some way, everything can be fine unless there is a major/minor mechanical issue going on, as the PCM is really the actual brains of the vehicle. TCM's can give trouble as well, and of course ESM's, due to being dirty, but in my experience, a corrupted PCM can be a very bad thing!
__________________
2006 JEEP 426 SRT8 "IN TRAINING" ----INFERNO RED[Goodies are always on the way ]
Stage 6 QA1 Adjustable Shocks, Billet Catch Can, AR Long Tube Headers, Paramount Stage II Valve Body, Paramount TCM , Dual Snorkel Volant Cai, Innovate MTX-L Wideband
Fluidyne Customized Radiator Speedy's Customized Transmission Cooler Setup More to come

If it's Cheap and Reliable it aint Fast
If it's Cheap and Fast it aint Reliable
If it's Fast and Reliable it aint Cheap
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #22  
Old 11-07-2012, 07:43 AM
hotrodcalvert's Avatar
hotrodcalvert hotrodcalvert is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 908
Thanks: 432
Thanked 156 Times in 132 Posts
I understand, I just wanna rule it out or find out if its the issue or not, its frustrating. ggrr haha Im staying positive though.
__________________
Colby

The "Silver Bullet" ---- 2006 Jeep SRT8 - Gone but definitely not forgotten
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23  
Old 11-20-2012, 09:39 AM
Dave_MacKinnon's Avatar
Dave_MacKinnon Dave_MacKinnon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hey guys.. I have a 2007 SRT with similar problems.. I'll be pulling away from a light at light throttle (yes, that happens!) or cruising on the highway and I will loose throttle response for a few seconds. I also noticed the transmission looses torque converter lockup.. I used to get a CEL on the dash.. I have since done some massive grounding upgrades under the hood to finalize the foundation for a big audio system upgrade.. Now, I don't get the CEL, but the phenomenom happens.

I have a data interface behind the radio to provide accessory, reverse and illumination output. Happened with this removed.

I have a security/remote start interface in the dash. happened with this removed.

I have the Diablo Trinity 91Oct CAI tune loaded.. Happened with this removed.

I saw above a comment about an ESM being dirty.. What in the world is an ESM?
__________________
Dave MacKinnon
Product Manager - Clarion Canada Inc. - www.clarion.com
Proprietor - Of Sound Mind Labs - www.osmlabs.com
Contributing Editor - Performance Auto & Sound Magazine - www.pasmag.com
Contributing Editor - RPM Motoring Monthly Magazine - www.rpmcanada.ca
2007 GC SRT-8
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24  
Old 11-20-2012, 10:06 AM
Tim H Calgary's Avatar
Tim H Calgary Tim H Calgary is offline
Post whoring since 2011
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,567
Thanks: 636
Thanked 320 Times in 242 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_MacKinnon View Post
Hey guys.. I have a 2007 SRT with similar problems.. I'll be pulling away from a light at light throttle (yes, that happens!) or cruising on the highway and I will loose throttle response for a few seconds. I also noticed the transmission looses torque converter lockup.. I used to get a CEL on the dash.. I have since done some massive grounding upgrades under the hood to finalize the foundation for a big audio system upgrade.. Now, I don't get the CEL, but the phenomenom happens.

I have a data interface behind the radio to provide accessory, reverse and illumination output. Happened with this removed.

I have a security/remote start interface in the dash. happened with this removed.

I have the Diablo Trinity 91Oct CAI tune loaded.. Happened with this removed.

I saw above a comment about an ESM being dirty.. What in the world is an ESM?
ESM is the electronic shifter module. It's the part below your shifter knob with P-R-D etc. It tells the computer what gear you're in. They aren't very well built depending on the year of your truck. I just replaced mine. Do you ever get P-R-D all circled when you start it up? Any codes ? if you get lost communication with gear shift module, very good chance your ESM is hooped.
__________________
Procharged D-1 @ 8 psi, SHR trans, Wavetrac rear diff, Converter,PWR Cam, kooks headers, Corsa exhaust, fore innovations hat, cf from black ops and dual projector headlights/Fogs from DC Customs. PWR 393 and ? #'s of boost come spring .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25  
Old 11-20-2012, 11:56 AM
hotrodcalvert's Avatar
hotrodcalvert hotrodcalvert is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 908
Thanks: 432
Thanked 156 Times in 132 Posts
Hey Tim, my beast is back to hauling major ass now, haha you get your part in and installed yet?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #26  
Old 11-20-2012, 02:43 PM
Tim H Calgary's Avatar
Tim H Calgary Tim H Calgary is offline
Post whoring since 2011
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,567
Thanks: 636
Thanked 320 Times in 242 Posts
Yah man, got er going again on the weekend. It's pig rich at WOT but that's ok. I will be doing some data logging shortly .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Tim H Calgary For This Useful Post:
hotrodcalvert (11-20-2012)
  #27  
Old 11-20-2012, 02:47 PM
hotrodcalvert's Avatar
hotrodcalvert hotrodcalvert is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 908
Thanks: 432
Thanked 156 Times in 132 Posts
Sounds good, good luck on it, Im about to go on a spending spree for mine for christmas I think, thinking maybe U/D pulley, Arrington 90MM TB, cutouts and an X-pipe perhaps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to hotrodcalvert For This Useful Post:
Tim H Calgary (11-20-2012)
  #28  
Old 11-20-2012, 03:09 PM
Knuckles's Avatar
Knuckles Knuckles is online now
Straight Up Beast SON!!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicagorilla!!
Posts: 16,539
Thanks: 2,495
Thanked 1,011 Times in 830 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrodcalvert View Post
Sounds good, good luck on it, Im about to go on a spending spree for mine for christmas I think, thinking maybe U/D pulley, Arrington 90MM TB, cutouts and an X-pipe perhaps.
Will give you an Christmas gift man... Save your money on the 90mm and just get yourself a Cam... Cam is the best bang for the buck....
__________________
Knuckles
Mods: Bwoody CAI/FRI Lil boy Cam/ SW Headers/CORSA exhaust/SLP UD Pulley/Black Ops Autoworks Ported Intake Manny/90MM TB/ Johan aka Diablotoona Custom Tune
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Knuckles For This Useful Post:
hotrodcalvert (11-20-2012)
  #29  
Old 11-20-2012, 09:11 PM
Dave_MacKinnon's Avatar
Dave_MacKinnon Dave_MacKinnon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Well gang.. Today my PLX Wiki 2 showed up, so I was playing with the Palmer Dashcommand app and decided to check and see if here were any codes in the ECU, even though there was no light? Lo and behold, we have a U0404 - Invalid Data from fear shift control module A in there... Guess I know what's wrong.. Any idea what these suckers cost?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #30  
Old 11-20-2012, 09:29 PM
Knuckles's Avatar
Knuckles Knuckles is online now
Straight Up Beast SON!!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicagorilla!!
Posts: 16,539
Thanks: 2,495
Thanked 1,011 Times in 830 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_MacKinnon View Post
Well gang.. Today my PLX Wiki 2 showed up, so I was playing with the Palmer Dashcommand app and decided to check and see if here were any codes in the ECU, even though there was no light? Lo and behold, we have a U0404 - Invalid Data from fear shift control module A in there... Guess I know what's wrong.. Any idea what these suckers cost?
Around 750.00
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HID problem :( dirtrcr WK1 Lighting Discussion 9 04-26-2012 10:24 AM
TCM Problem? housemouse100 WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 5 04-25-2012 08:14 AM
Diablo Tuner Problem/tcm Problem SRTB WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 6 08-22-2009 02:28 PM
Big Problem.... frankofiore WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 8 09-05-2008 03:25 PM
I Think I Just May Have A Problem OurZoo WK1 SRT8 General Discussion 29 08-20-2007 03:06 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide