Transfer Case Removal Question - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK1 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2006-2010) > WK1 SRT8 General Discussion

WK1 SRT8 General Discussion This section contains general discussion relating to the Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 09-18-2012, 03:38 AM

Transfer Case Removal Question/ brief DIY

I plan on removing my transfer case and replacing all the internals, clutch pack, chain , gears, ect. Ive been running 2wd for around 9 months because the case started to bind up. Do i need to drop the tranny to remove the transfer case? Any points i need to support with a jack while im working on the transfer case? Other than the fluid inside of the case do i need to worry about any other fluid leaking? I've quoted around $800 to $900 in parts to completely rebuild. Any tips or tricks would be helpful.

Thanks -Jason

Last edited by jabdelja; 11-16-2012 at 03:07 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-18-2012, 08:20 AM
Elite Contributing Member

You don't have to remove the trans to remove the transfer case. I would put a floor jack under the trans to support it. No other fluids to be concerned about, pretty straight forward.
Web: sf10caravan.com

2012 300SRT--Mods so far....CMR tune from Toona, tinted taillights, Kooks LTs and high flow cats, soon to be released catback, Mopar lowering springs, HIDs in the driving lights, tinted windows, LMI true CAI, and a bunch of BT bling.
ng.

Powered by PWR Tooned by Johan Blinged by Billet Technologies
Old 09-18-2012, 08:52 AM
One, two, GIT SUM!!
Lifetime Premium Member

its almost light enough to just drop on your chest from the looks of it.. if you can support the splines when you remove it, if youve done alot of wrenching youd be able to get away with that