Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner

Transfer Case Removal Question

14K views 23 replies 11 participants last post by  cmn1 
#1 · (Edited)
Transfer Case Removal Question/ brief DIY

I plan on removing my transfer case and replacing all the internals, clutch pack, chain , gears, ect. Ive been running 2wd for around 9 months because the case started to bind up. Do i need to drop the tranny to remove the transfer case? Any points i need to support with a jack while im working on the transfer case? Other than the fluid inside of the case do i need to worry about any other fluid leaking? I've quoted around $800 to $900 in parts to completely rebuild. Any tips or tricks would be helpful.

Thanks -Jason

#2 ·
You don't have to remove the trans to remove the transfer case. I would put a floor jack under the trans to support it. No other fluids to be concerned about, pretty straight forward.

#3 ·
its almost light enough to just drop on your chest from the looks of it.. if you can support the splines when you remove it, if youve done alot of wrenching youd be able to get away with that

#4 ·
The transfer case isn't that heavy, but isn't super light either.

#5 · (Edited)
so I have my jeep up on the ramps and i have 6 of the bolts out of the transfer case where it connects to the transmission. There are 3 on the passenger side of the case and 2 on top that are just about impossible to access with any type of tool. Is there a trick to getting to them or should i just chalk up my loses and take it to a shop?

also could i just slip the transfer case while still installed on the car to replace the clutches??

#6 ·
A universal or two and a couple extensions should work just fine. They are a paint to get to, but can be taken out.
If you lower the trans a little (assuming you have a jack under it), it'll slant down and should give you a little more room in that area.

#7 ·