2012 SRT8 Vapor - Need remote Start Kit - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

» Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK2 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2012+) > WK2 SRT8 General Discussion

WK2 SRT8 General Discussion This section is for the general discussion of the second generation Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2013, 01:56 AM
Skeletor88 Skeletor88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
2012 SRT8 Vapor - Need remote Start Kit

Hi,

I am awaiting delivery of the Vapor. it should arrive in about 10 days. Unfortunately though, Australian delivered SRT8's do not have the remote start feature.

Will the Mopar Remote Start Kit work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 05:56 AM
JerseyBoy@Stage6 JerseyBoy@Stage6 is offline
Supporting Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,916
Thanks: 167
Thanked 731 Times in 423 Posts
Yes but your dealer will probably have to configure the truck for it using thier scan tool.

J

Sent from my SPH-D700 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-17-2013, 02:39 PM
Skeletor88 Skeletor88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseyBoy@Stage6 View Post
Yes but your dealer will probably have to configure the truck for it using thier scan tool.

J

Sent from my SPH-D700 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
That shouldn't be a problem. My local dealer is also perplexed as to why it is not offered. Would I be able to buy a kit from Ebay and have them program the unit in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-17-2013, 03:40 PM
Se7endust1's Avatar
Se7endust1 Se7endust1 is offline
Senior Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 569
Thanks: 76
Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
you could likely get an aftermarket one installed for less, but then you have an extra remote on your keychain.
__________________
currently a '10 c300 4matic sport sitting on 19" vossens.

SOLD: 2008 Jeep SRT8. ProCharged w/ a D1 blower (carbonite coated 3.4" pulley), Borla S, & SHR Viking NAG1. Someday...I'll have another!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-17-2013, 04:54 PM
Skeletor88 Skeletor88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
I would like to use the stock unit and have one remote and everything fire up as it should. Will the Ebay remote kits work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-18-2013, 09:26 AM
Rip˛eR Rip˛eR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Belgium - Europe
Posts: 94
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
If you got the mopar number... I'm interested as well. Because mine came without remote start too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-03-2013, 01:42 PM
navyavi469's Avatar
navyavi469 navyavi469 is offline
Coksmith&Master-Pintsman
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 5,132
Thanks: 32
Thanked 419 Times in 212 Posts
A $70,000 MSRP truck doesn't have a remote start? Why do not find that surprising.
__________________


* 2006 WK1 JEEP SRT8 (THE FIRST) TURBO BUILD, 743AWHP/860AWTQ *SOLD*
__CREDITS: S6 Motorsports, Paramount, AJ Hemituner, Johan, LPM Engines
* 2013 WK2 JEEP SRT8 ALPINE (STOCK, DAILY DRIVER)

*If any vendor would like to sponsor my WK2 build, please PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:47 PM
cmn1's Avatar
cmn1 cmn1 is offline
Super Moderator
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Addison, IL
Posts: 9,817
Thanks: 909
Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,154 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeletor88 View Post
Hi,

I am awaiting delivery of the Vapor. it should arrive in about 10 days. Unfortunately though, Australian delivered SRT8's do not have the remote start feature.

Will the Mopar Remote Start Kit work?
This guy should be able to help you while still using your OEM keyfob.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/195807785604/
__________________
Chad (06 Inferno Red GC SRT8) PWR 6.3L, PWR Apache Heads, Stage6 76 mm Turbo, Stage6 Fuel Pump, SHR NAG1-HTCr, PI 2400 TQ Converter, ATI Flex Plate, BC Coil Overs, Wilwood TC6R calipers, Kooks Headers, Mopar exhaust, MM 85mm T-body, Jerseyboy CMR, Bwoody Sway Links, R1 Concepts F Slot & Dimp, R StopTech Pads, Earls Trans Cooler, TLS Rear Fog Harness
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:48 PM
CLStech's Avatar
CLStech CLStech is offline
Senior Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: RTP, NC
Posts: 504
Thanks: 343
Thanked 83 Times in 69 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by navyavi469 View Post
A $70,000 MSRP truck doesn't have a remote start? Why do not find that surprising.
Calm yourself, it is probably due to their import rules/regulations or overall laws.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-04-2013, 03:15 AM
Skeletor88 Skeletor88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLS View Post
Calm yourself, it is probably due to their import rules/regulations or overall laws.
Spot on. Apparently, under our ADR's (Australian Design Rules), you must be within a certain number of feet of your vehicle whilst the engine is running. Also, a vehicle can not have its engine running whilst it is unattended and the doors locked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
False Start? Remote Start didn't finish srt8gofast WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 2 12-22-2012 07:19 PM
Retrofit - Remote start to a Exported JEEP SRT 2012 Metomlin WK2 SRT8 General Discussion 7 07-17-2012 01:29 AM
SRT8 acting up - remote start - engine light locogato11283 WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service 9 03-25-2011 04:12 PM
New GC SRT8 Sunday but does it come with remote start? Red in th desert New Member Introductions 3 07-03-2009 05:06 PM
2007 G.C. SRT8 Predator tune / Remote Start? BJB WK1 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 13 10-29-2008 08:54 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide