headunit lock ups - Page 2 - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK2 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2012+) > WK2 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics

WK2 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics This section is to discuss all topics related to audio, video, UConnect, navigation & electronics.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:10 AM
Bosshogg's Avatar
Bosshogg Bosshogg is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Where ever Uncle Sam sends me!!
Posts: 302
Thanks: 45
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
This has happened to me 4 or 5 times. It really pisses me off. I've also had where all the back speakers wont play. Uncle Sam has me deploying in 60 days so im not gonna make any changes until i get back. But i plan on changing out the Head unit and Amp to aftemarket.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #12  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:31 AM
wolf's Avatar
wolf wolf is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 239
Thanks: 24
Thanked 29 Times in 25 Posts
Guys, doesn't happen to all, but from my research there is no fix but to get your unit replaced. Happened to me twice. Took it back to dealer and they told me that somehow my radio software became outdated. Only fix is to replace. Hope you still have the warranty.
__________________

2010 JEEP SRT8
STAGE 3 CAM **MEAN STREET HEADS**JOHAN TUNED**275/315 nitto motivos**catch can**t-180 stat**bwoody 4 intake**v-leds' triton switchbacks 6k**hid fogs 6k**bwoody shorty antenna
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:46 PM
JBasco20's Avatar
JBasco20 JBasco20 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Posts: 348
Thanks: 12
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
I'm starting to have this issue and mine only has 2700 miles.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 02-14-2013, 01:09 AM
Adamoffshore Adamoffshore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Lock ups

Just to add to this thread. We have had ours for a week now and it has locked up for the last two days. First time it just locked up with no sound or controls. Had to shut the car down to reset. Today I had the reversing camera stay on while I drove the kids to school. Nice view but quite unnerving.

Now it is jumpy with streaming music and the iPhone cannot make calls.

Car is booked in Monday to have it looked at. Might get the Satnav checked out as well. It seems to be missing major roads that have been down for 5 years now.....!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Adamoffshore For This Useful Post:
Raland (02-14-2013)
  #15  
Old 02-14-2013, 06:22 AM
Raland's Avatar
Raland Raland is offline
Driver Override Detected
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 160
Thanks: 24
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamoffshore View Post
Might get the Satnav checked out as well. It seems to be missing major roads that have been down for 5 years now.....!!
I noticed this on mine too, roads missing and the points of interest seems years out of date. I checked around the internet for mygig updates and there wasn't any. The Nav must be a separate system. Let us know if you have any luck with an update.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------
-Ralph
2013 Alpine : Clear Bra, Catch can, Escort Redline, Frt & Rear Cameras, New SB @ 34k
1994 Impala SS - 242k after the 2 months Jeep was blown up
1970 C10 SB/FS - endless trips to lowes and the depot
2007 Silver Charger SRT - (Sold) 106,000 miles of warp speed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #16  
Old 02-20-2013, 03:35 PM
ASLEEPER's Avatar
ASLEEPER ASLEEPER is offline
Elite Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Squamish, BC
Posts: 2,424
Thanks: 120
Thanked 288 Times in 261 Posts
Send a message via MSN to ASLEEPER
Latest mygig rer update is 2.404 that you can google for.
__________________
'09 Brilliant Black, all options, dual Kicker Sub, ambient interior lighting kit, cabin filter, Escort 9500ix w/Stealth mirror cord, Blendmount mirror mount & ZR4 Shifters, Mopar PDA holder, Weathertech Mats w/SRT Logos, Mopar CAI, BT Catch Can w/underhood dress up kit, Jeep rear cargo tray, HID fogs w/functioning rear fogs, shorty 8" black antenna, 6.1 Hemi Badges (fenders), SRT8 badges (doors), Intune & Johan Tune
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17  
Old 03-01-2013, 09:22 AM
contagius contagius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mine locks up occasionally but works after a full reboot. A pain when on a long road trip definitely. Anybody know of a fix yet?
__________________
2013 Deep Cherry Red GC SRT8 - Speedlogix catch can
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18  
Old 03-07-2013, 07:46 AM
JBasco20's Avatar
JBasco20 JBasco20 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Posts: 348
Thanks: 12
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
brought mine in and got the typical "couldn't duplicate the problem"
__________________
2014 Jeep SRT White/Black Chrome Wheels W/Borla S & Catch Can. (08/24/2013)
2002 Mustang GT Conv Supercharged 521RWHP
2003 Lincoln Aviator (Daily Driver)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19  
Old 03-07-2013, 02:26 PM
SHIFTN's Avatar
SHIFTN SHIFTN is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wisconsin / Illinois
Posts: 118
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Garage
headunit lock ups

They could not duplicate my problem, so I started to record the issue on my phone the next time it happened, as I drove straight to the service center for them to see me "duplicate" the problem. They ordered a new head unit, awaiting installation.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20  
Old 03-07-2013, 04:16 PM
Mongoose9400's Avatar
Mongoose9400 Mongoose9400 is offline
The Traveler
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,225
Thanks: 462
Thanked 667 Times in 516 Posts
headunit lock ups

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIFTN View Post
They could not duplicate my problem, so I started to record the issue on my phone the next time it happened, as I drove straight to the service center for them to see me "duplicate" the problem. They ordered a new head unit, awaiting installation.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
I was gonna say video the problem. Good thinking


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
__________________
Zac
2012 WK2 SRT8 Mineral Gray | BT Catch Can | BT Underhood Goodies | Painted Engine Bay | Bwoody CAI | Custom Washer Setup | Shaved Jeep/Color Matched Liftgate Brow| Chrome Delete | Debadge-ReBadged | 5% Tint All Around | 78% Windshield Tint | Passport 9500ix | TLS Rear Fogs | 5k HID Fogs | 6k LED Running Lights | 8k Bi-Xenon | 6K LED Plate Lights | 6k Interior LED Swap | Borla ATAK | WK1 Borla Reso Swap | Matching eBrake Pedal | Trinity | Modified DS 93 Tune
SOLD 2007 Silver Jeep SRT8

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone add Sirius to a headunit without one? Frosty_Power WK1 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics 6 01-18-2012 08:20 PM
does the rec headunit have iPod connection gonzos08csrt4 WK1 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics 2 05-10-2010 02:42 PM
2008 Headunit experts in here miclightning WK1 Audio/Video/Nav/UConnect/Electronics 12 12-31-2008 04:06 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide