Gauges not working - Help.. - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

Auto Insurance

Go Back   Cherokee SRT8 Forum > WK1 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 Discussion (2006-2010) > WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service

WK1 Troubleshooting / Problems Discussion / Dealer Service If you are having some problems with your Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 and need assistance in troubleshooting and diagnosing the problem, this is the proper place to discuss it. Were you treated fairly or poorly at a dealer? Warranty issues? Let us know.

CherokeeSRT8.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:19 PM
jjjeremyyy's Avatar
jjjeremyyy jjjeremyyy is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta
Posts: 666
Thanks: 81
Thanked 66 Times in 63 Posts
Gauges not working - Help..

Alright so I searched all over the place but couldnt find any good answers to my problem..

My gauges stopped working today when I got in the Jeep and I have a check engine light on.. Tried plugging in the Trinity and it doesnt even turn on. The controls on the steering arent working either and my traction control button & seat warmers buttons arent lighting up..Its pretty cold outside so could this simply be my Battery? Still have my stock battery and i am currently sitting at 50 000km (30k miles)

I have to go to the dealer to get my 50 000km service done and am still under warranty and all but just though id ask cause its driving me crazy..
Thanks
__________________
2010 JGC SRT8
2012 Ram 1500
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:31 PM
roadboy's Avatar
roadboy roadboy is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 3,064
Thanks: 680
Thanked 649 Times in 548 Posts
Garage
I would definitely try the battery first. 50k on a battery in fort Mac is impressive.
__________________

2008 Jeep GCSRT8 Procharger D1 SHR coming soon
R1 rotors and stop techs, reso-delete,
Electric exhaust cuts outs
tuned by datoona!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to roadboy For This Useful Post:
jjjeremyyy (11-19-2012)
  #3  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:41 PM
DrSheldonCooper's Avatar
DrSheldonCooper DrSheldonCooper is offline
Major Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 158
Thanked 237 Times in 171 Posts
Garage
when you plug in your scanner does it even power up? if it doesn't power up it's usually because of a blown fuse. most common is the cig lighter fuse, because it's usually shared with the DLC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to DrSheldonCooper For This Useful Post:
jjjeremyyy (11-19-2012)
  #4  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:43 PM
Knuckles's Avatar
Knuckles Knuckles is offline
Straight Up Beast SON!!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicagorilla!!
Posts: 16,552
Thanks: 2,497
Thanked 1,012 Times in 831 Posts
Check you battery like said above, but most importantly check all your fuses. A local memeber had the same issue on his Jeep and it ended up being a fuse. Not sure which fusebox it was , but check the 2 in the engine bay and the one under the dash....
__________________
Knuckles
Mods: Bwoody CAI/FRI Lil boy Cam/ SW Headers/CORSA exhaust/SLP UD Pulley/Black Ops Autoworks Ported Intake Manny/90MM TB/ Johan aka Diablotoona Custom Tune
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Knuckles For This Useful Post:
jjjeremyyy (11-19-2012)
  #5  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:43 PM
jjjeremyyy's Avatar
jjjeremyyy jjjeremyyy is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta
Posts: 666
Thanks: 81
Thanked 66 Times in 63 Posts
No, my Trinity doesnt power up.. I will double check the fuses
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-19-2012, 07:04 PM
kmitch80's Avatar
kmitch80 kmitch80 is offline
Elite Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo
Posts: 2,965
Thanks: 520
Thanked 246 Times in 183 Posts
Garage
check fuses under the hood and in the driver kick panel. check and double check. if none are blown, you're prolly gonna need a new gauge cluster as it controls EVERYTHING on the dash, even the door locks. But my guess is its a fuse.
__________________
PWR 426

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to kmitch80 For This Useful Post:
jjjeremyyy (11-19-2012)
  #7  
Old 11-19-2012, 07:05 PM
DrSheldonCooper's Avatar
DrSheldonCooper DrSheldonCooper is offline
Major Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 158
Thanked 237 Times in 171 Posts
Garage
if it doesn't even power up i'm willing to be it's the cig lighter fuse.
should be a 20amp fuse if i remember correctly, most of them are.

let us know what it is tho !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to DrSheldonCooper For This Useful Post:
jjjeremyyy (11-19-2012)
  #8  
Old 11-19-2012, 08:21 PM
jjjeremyyy's Avatar
jjjeremyyy jjjeremyyy is offline
Lifetime Premium Member
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta
Posts: 666
Thanks: 81
Thanked 66 Times in 63 Posts
Allright got it all figured out.. It was a 10amp fuse located under the dash.. lol
Thanks boys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-19-2012, 09:50 PM
Knuckles's Avatar
Knuckles Knuckles is offline
Straight Up Beast SON!!!
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicagorilla!!
Posts: 16,552
Thanks: 2,497
Thanked 1,012 Times in 831 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjeremyyy View Post
Allright got it all figured out.. It was a 10amp fuse located under the dash.. lol
Thanks boys!
Cool man! What fuse was it for future reference?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-20-2012, 08:01 AM
ekaz's Avatar
ekaz ekaz is offline
Elite Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,810
Thanks: 265
Thanked 572 Times in 426 Posts
Fuse 15 I think it was Jose. When looking at the fuse panel under the dash, it was in the 10A in the lower left corner.
***EDIT** Fuse 16 is the correct fuse
http://wkjeeps.com/wk_fuses.htm#INTERIOR
__________________
Join the Caravan for SF10!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SF10caravan
Twitter: @SF10Caravan
Web: sf10caravan.com

2012 300SRT--Mods so far....CMR tune from Toona, tinted taillights, Kooks LTs and high flow cats, soon to be released catback, Mopar lowering springs, HIDs in the driving lights, tinted windows, LMI true CAI, and a bunch of BT bling.
ng.


Powered by PWR Tooned by Johan Blinged by Billet Technologies

Last edited by ekaz; 11-20-2012 at 08:03 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to ekaz For This Useful Post:
jjjeremyyy (11-20-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Cherokee SRT8 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What gauges to get? maansy WK1 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 54 03-29-2011 02:02 AM
2 Gauges down, 3 to go double_d99 WK1 Interior/Exterior Visual Modifications 4 01-21-2011 05:45 PM
gauges? cobraklr96 WK1 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 9 10-20-2010 10:24 PM
AEM A/F Gauges nyjoed WK1 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 13 10-14-2010 05:11 AM
GB on A/F gauges? Newfiebullet WK1 SRT8 General Discussion 6 04-01-2009 11:40 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© AutoGuide