Whats up with this? [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: Whats up with this?


Dukus
11-05-2007, 07:18 PM
Browsing used srt 8's i came across this one

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail.jsp;?tracktype=usedcc&searchType=24&pageNumber=0&numResultsPerPage=50&largeNumResultsPerPage=0&sortorder=ascending&sortfield=PRICE+ascending%2CPRICE+descending&certifiedOnly=false&criteria=K-srt%7CE-ALL%7CM-_23_%7CH-%7CD-_246_%7CN-N%7CR-10000%7CI-1%7CP-PRICE+ascending%2CPRICE+descending%7CQ-ascending%7CS-_5_%7CX-popular%7CZ-12345&aff=national&paId=244346898&recnum=7&leadExists=true

its listed at 21,900 with only 5500 miles!

grocery gtr
11-05-2007, 07:21 PM
looks like rens jeep.pretty sweet.

mrfreeze
11-05-2007, 07:22 PM
damn 21,9 i would sell mine and buy that one..

Dukus
11-05-2007, 07:25 PM
Im thinking it has to be a typo, or something is seriously wrong with the thing.

Jeep Trick
11-05-2007, 07:27 PM
Maybe this explains

http://www.cherokeesrt8.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7002

cobrakid
11-05-2007, 07:32 PM
still a decent deal if it was fixed correctly? right?

Jeep Trick
11-05-2007, 07:43 PM
still a decent deal if it was fixed correctly? right?

If done right, hell ya :eek:

ram_g
11-05-2007, 07:56 PM
Interesting that the Carfax doesn't mention an accident (nor is it mentioned anywhere in the ad).

Hotscott7
11-05-2007, 08:07 PM
That is most likely one of those stupid people in Europe that attempt to sell other cars that belong to other people. They do this by stealing pictures and definitions from vehicles that were sold prior and mark them with an incredibly low price and try to get you to send them a money order to some place (where they are located, usually in Europe) and they will magically ship you this "too good to be true" deal for free. After you send them the down payment which is usually a few $1,000, you will never hear from them again, never see the car or your money either......why?? because they dont own it, and know nothing about it. It happens all the time on ebay and other online car purchasing sites. Usually with higher priced and exotic cars. I learned about it all being a Supra owner, they used to and probably still do it all the time with Supras. This Jeep SRT8 was for sale a long time ago and is completely done custom by a shop (i cant remember the name) its not renntech's ride, I believe they were trying to get $50,xxx something for it.....maybe more, definitely not $20 some

Tex_SRT8
11-05-2007, 08:14 PM
That is most likely one of those stupid people in Europe that attempt to sell other cars that belong to other people. They do this by stealing pictures and definitions from vehicles that were sold prior and mark them with an incredibly low price and try to get you to send them a money order to some place (where they are located, usually in Europe) and they will magically ship you this "too good to be true" deal for free. After you send them the down payment which is usually a few $1,000, you will never hear from them again, never see the car or your money either......why?? because they dont own it, and know nothing about it. It happens all the time on ebay and other online car purchasing sites. Usually with higher priced and exotic cars. I learned about it all being a Supra owner, they used to and probably still do it all the time with Supras. This Jeep SRT8 was for sale a long time ago and is completely done custom by a shop (i cant remember the name) its not renntech's ride, I believe they were trying to get $50,xxx something for it.....maybe more, definitely not $20 some


hmmm
Sounds to me like the "stupid people" are the ones giving the $1000 down payment... :rolleyes:

Dr.Steve
11-05-2007, 08:18 PM
Scott is right about that rig being for sale earlier this year, in fact I have spoken to AI design in NY, they are the ones who did the interior, and I believe the owner was asking 50k+ when he listed it on ebay. . . damn nice interior work from those guys if you have the scratch for it, but don't fall for this scam!

Steve

Hotscott7
11-05-2007, 08:21 PM
hmmm
Sounds to me like the "stupid people" are the ones giving the $1000 down payment... :rolleyes:

HAHA yeah I am sure the people over in Europe are rollin in some good money.....It was a huge problem for a long time, but if you read that link for the Jeep, underneath the "email seller" thing.....there is a little thing that says "more fraud awareness tips", that really explains the whole problem. And also shows that the sites are finally figuring out how often it happens.

SI_G35Coupe
11-05-2007, 08:53 PM
guys that rig listed on there is not the one belonging to renntech that got wrecked... it's the SRT-8 created by AI Design (they're up in Westchester County NY). you can tell by the customized seat motor buttons on the center console by the shifter, and the photos match the ones in their gallery...
http://www.aidesign.com/home.html

CLICK ON "PROJECTS" AND THEN #25

AI Design does some very classy car customization. they did a Skyline GT-R that was featured on the cover of Car Audio & Electronics a while back


EDIT: Sorry, didn't realize Dr.Steve already posted that it was the AI Design Jeep

Dr.Steve
11-05-2007, 09:03 PM
SI, my personal favorite is the CLS in matte black, the best custom job I have ever seen

Steve

Dukus
11-05-2007, 09:08 PM
So the consensus is that its a scam then?

Hotscott7
11-05-2007, 09:22 PM
So the consensus is that its a scam then?

Either that or a REALLY stupid typo......Never will you find a truck like that for $21,900

DJ Red Barron
11-05-2007, 10:19 PM
Scott is right about that rig being for sale earlier this year, in fact I have spoken to AI design in NY, they are the ones who did the interior, and I believe the owner was asking 50k+ when he listed it on ebay. . . damn nice interior work from those guys if you have the scratch for it, but don't fall for this scam!

Steve
Yep. I knew the truck when I saw it. I actually considered getting it when I first saw it for sale earlier in the year. A sweet ride for sure.

I hate these scam ads. :mad:

dodgeboy16
11-06-2007, 12:32 AM
[QUOTE=Dukus;103888]Browsing used srt 8's i came across this one

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail.jsp;?tracktype=usedcc&searchType=24&pageNumber=0&numResultsPerPage=50&largeNumResultsPerPage=0&sortorder=ascending&sortfield=PRICE+ascending%2CPRICE+descending&certifiedOnly=false&criteria=K-srt%7CE-ALL%7CM-_23_%7CH-%7CD-_246_%7CN-N%7CR-10000%7CI-1%7CP-PRICE+ascending%2CPRICE+descending%7CQ-ascending%7CS-_5_%7CX-popular%7CZ-12345&aff=national&paId=244346898&recnum=7&leadExists=true

its listed at 21,900 with only 5500 miles!


It Started it's life in Nov. of 05 and was sold in New Jersey back in Feb of 06 . Other than the SRT Prep. it has never been in a Dealership for Service. There is an Open Recall and Rapid Responce on it.


Jack