Old Question, New Member Needs Mods Advice [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: Old Question, New Member Needs Mods Advice

QwikSUV
06-14-2007, 03:46 PM
Hey Guys,

I am new to the Jeep family as well as this forum. I just recently sold my C6 vette to accomodate my family needs. Obviously I have the need for speed, so I had to have the baddest SUV made in America, so I bought the SRT8 Jeep, and I am in love with this beast!!!!

My first task is to squeeze some additional HP out of this monster without sacrificing the relaibility of the vehicle. So headers, H/C packages, N2O & SC are out of the question. I am thinkig cat-back, CAI, computer reprogramming, colder t-stat, etc, would be my best bet. I realize this is a tall order, but can anyone refer to me the best vendor to use for this? Are there other mods I can do besides what I mentioned above? And how much power I can expect from these mods?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Jason in So Cal.

GotStroke?
06-14-2007, 04:34 PM
176-180 T-stat, snorkel mod, drop in K&N and/or wait for generalconfusion/Runnin9s carbon fiber CAI. Others have run high 12s @ 104-106 with the same basic mods. You can also pull your ABS fuse at the strip to get rid of some TQ management.

cobrakid
06-14-2007, 05:04 PM
.........I see your immediate goals and here are my thoughts.

170* stat.
modify front scoop.....known as the scoop mod.

brake duct mod...running ducts from factory brake cooling duct(s) to bottom of factory air box.

K&N drop in filter

like stated above, pull ABS fuse at the track......bingo high 12s!

No need for an air kit $300, or exhaust $900+.....just my opinion.

use the search button for above mods, and feel free to ask any questions.

adam
06-14-2007, 06:41 PM
.........I see your immediate goals and here are my thoughts.

170* stat.
modify front scoop.....known as the scoop mod.

brake duct mod...running ducts from factory brake cooling duct(s) to bottom of factory air box.

K&N drop in filter