My IAT Sensor Relocation [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: My IAT Sensor Relocation


Inferno SRT8
05-01-2007, 05:16 PM
I relocated my IAT sensor into the filter compartment, it doesnt get the heatsoak as bad now, next I have to seal the filter compartment fully from the engine heat, thats my next project.

I sealed the existing IAT hole with a bumper grommet I found around my ******, you can buy on in autozone, pep boys etc. I hole sawed a new hole 7/8" for the new IAT sensor location. I ran all the wire in a plastic wiring troft like the OEM ones you see all over the engine bay and it all looks like the factory did it because im that anal.

The temperatures im seeing now are much lower and closer to the ambient temperature, while standing still now the heatsoak is cut atleast by 50% once I seal the filter section I should have that up around 80 to 90%, Pics can be seen at the link below.

http://www.***********/forums/showthread.php?t=8783

generalconfusion
05-01-2007, 05:49 PM
I relocated my IAT sensor into the filter compartment, it doesnt get the heatsoak as bad now, next I have to seal the filter compartment fully from the engine heat, thats my next project.

I sealed the existing IAT hole with a bumper grommet I found around my ******, you can buy on in autozone, pep boys etc. I hole sawed a new hole 7/8" for the new IAT sensor location. I ran all the wire in a plastic wiring troft like the OEM ones you see all over the engine bay and it all looks like the factory did it because im that anal.

The temperatures im seeing now are much lower and closer to the ambient temperature, while standing still now the heatsoak is cut atleast by 50% once I seal the filter section I should have that up around 80 to 90%, Pics can be seen at the link below.

http://www.***********/forums/showthread.php?t=8783

EXCELLENT!! Let us know how it runs.

Inferno SRT8
05-01-2007, 05:54 PM
EXCELLENT!! Let us know how it runs.


Steve its running alot better then it was before, the temp does not rise as fast now when standing still, IMHO opinion this is a must with whoevers CAI you are using. Once I seal the filter bay from the engine and just have ambient temp directed into the filter section its gonna get alot better!

srt8 for me
05-01-2007, 06:02 PM
thanks for all the good info . well that help our ET .:)

Inferno SRT8
05-01-2007, 06:06 PM
thanks for all the good info . well that help our ET .:)


Yes it will!

mrfreeze
05-01-2007, 06:10 PM
i like that paint job you have there on you cai..nice job on the relocation..on my dub intake the hole for the iat sensor sits a few inches back from where the stock one was..

Inferno SRT8
05-01-2007, 06:15 PM
i like that paint job you have there on you cai..nice job on the relocation..on my dub intake the hole for the iat sensor sits a few inches back from where the stock one was..

Thanks!

The Dub CAI is even worse with the heat soak, not only is it metal its chromed!!!!!

Relocate, relocate!

mrfreeze
05-01-2007, 06:18 PM
Thanks!

The Dub CAI is even worse with the heat soak, not only is it metal its chromed!!!!!

Relocate, relocate!

ya tell me about it..i was thinking about getting it jet-coated..

Inferno SRT8
05-01-2007, 06:23 PM
ya tell me about it..i was thinking about getting it jet-coated..


Do it and relocate the sensor too!

Derwood98
05-01-2007, 06:24 PM
So, if I am hearing you correctly... I should relocate my IAT sensor when my Volant shows up? And this will do what for performance?

Inferno SRT8
05-01-2007, 06:31 PM
So, if I am hearing you correctly... I should relocate my IAT sensor when my Volant shows up? And this will do what for performance?


Well it depends if you start seeing IAT temps of 120 or above Ide relocate it, your heatsoak on the Volant may not be as bad as my Mopar CAI, remember my tube is metal and yours is rubber so heat will soak into mine alot quicker then yours.

But relocating the sensor to a place where there is less heat is always a good thing.

Keeping the IAT temps lower will give you overall better performance and consistency that he heatsoak takes away.

Squilly D
05-01-2007, 07:52 PM
Can you take some pics on how you did the wiring? Did you have to cut the existing wires and splice in longer pieces?

FastSRT8GC
05-01-2007, 08:37 PM
Or you guys could just use a resistor to lower the temp!! It works we did it. And monitoring the DashHawk we noticed the timing also was effected. I am not advertising any resistor sizes or data till we can test with it. But I will tell you we were able to control inside and outside temps, also timing :)

BILLSHOE
05-01-2007, 09:24 PM
Well it depends if you start seeing IAT temps of 120 or above Ide relocate it, your heatsoak on the Volant may not be as bad as my Mopar CAI, remember my tube is metal and yours is rubber so heat will soak into mine alot quicker then yours.

But relocating the sensor to a place where there is less heat is always a good thing.

Keeping the IAT temps lower will give you overall better performance and consistency that he heatsoak takes away.
tony how did you go with extending wires

Inferno SRT8
05-02-2007, 05:34 AM
Can you take some pics on how you did the wiring? Did you have to cut the existing wires and splice in longer pieces?

Ill get a few pics.


tony how did you go with extending wires

I used #14 awg put male staycons (round ones that snap into each other) on the oem wiring so I never have to remove or resplice the oem wiring again, used female on the wiring extensions, put the same 2 male ones on the oem connector so that now never has to be respliced. You can also use butt splices but you will have to resplice wires if anything goes wrong etc.

larryc7777
05-02-2007, 06:27 PM
Hey Tony, I have a question. Did the actual heat soak in the air intake tube change or did you merely move the sampling location to a cooler spot in the intake tract? Isn't the intake tube still "seeing" the same temp as before? I realize that a lower IAT temp at the sensor will keep the PCM from retarding timing but does the new location give lower reading even when you aren't sitting still? How long did it take for the IAT to come down once you started to move? I'm trying to decide between just insulating the intake tube...or moving the sensor AND insulating the intake tube.

Inferno SRT8
05-02-2007, 06:39 PM
Hey Tony, I have a question. Did the actual heat soak in the air intake tube change or did you merely move the sampling location to a cooler spot in the intake tract? Isn't the intake tube still "seeing" the same temp as before? I realize that a lower IAT temp at the sensor will keep the PCM from retarding timing but does the new location give lower reading even when you aren't sitting still? How long did it take for the IAT to come down once you started to move? I'm trying to decide between just insulating the intake tube...or moving the sensor AND insulating the intake tube.

By moving the sensor your giving the PCM true intake readings, not heatsoaked readings and totally freaking the timing out which was slowing down my WOT launches.

And yes im getting much lower temps now when im in traffic standing still, and the temp now when moving drops considerably faster then compared to where the IAT was before.

I dont know which CAI your using but the mopar 1 leaves a HUGE gap between the radiator and heatshield, once I seal that and find a way to insulate the top also, I wont be sucking in any engine heat at all.

BILLSHOE
05-02-2007, 06:59 PM
Ill get a few pics.




I used #14 awg put male staycons (round ones that snap into each other) on the oem wiring so I never have to remove or resplice the oem wiring again, used female on the wiring extensions, put the same 2 male ones on the oem connector so that now never has to be respliced. You can also use butt splices but you will have to resplice wires if anything goes wrong etc.
thanks tony i guess ill wait till i get back do this and t-stat together plus then we will see the results..you the man

Inferno SRT8
05-02-2007, 07:02 PM
thanks tony i guess ill wait till i get back do this and t-stat together plus then we will see the results..you the man


When you get back in town Billy we will do it all in 1 shot, Tstat, IAT relocation etc.

See you soon bro.

cobrakid
05-02-2007, 07:07 PM
....could we re-locate it with stock air box set-up?

thanks....

Inferno SRT8
05-02-2007, 07:13 PM
....could we re-locate it with stock air box set-up?

thanks....


Absolutely.

cobrakid
05-02-2007, 08:58 PM
....ok...ok, I was actually trying to pump you for beneficial info here.....

Where might one move the sensor on a stock. but modified airbox?

thank you for your anticipated co-operation in this very important matter.







haha....thanks dude, for all of your constant help and informative posts.
When inferno talks, I listen!

OurZoo
05-02-2007, 10:27 PM
What is he E.F. Hutton or something? :D

OBSRT8
05-02-2007, 10:30 PM
Thanks!

The Dub CAI is even worse with the heat soak, not only is it metal its chromed!!!!!

Relocate, relocate!

Lets clear up one thing here.The Dub is not chromed steel, but Stainless Steel and Stainless does not absorb heat as quickly as aluminum that the Mopar tube is made of.Your idea sounds great to trick the pcm,but what does that do for our MPG.With the cooler air the pcm is looking at it like it has not come up to temp's yet and will keep the fuel mix at a richer state than we would like for better MPG.Great for power.How about if we have 2 IAT sensors and plug into one for every day driving and the other for the track.

OurZoo
05-02-2007, 10:35 PM
I was watching my IAT readings today on my commute to and from work today. While hauling azz on the 101, the readings were within 10 degrees of ambient for the most part and when I was in stop and go traffic it got up to 104 at one point. I'm wondering what the reading are going to be when it's a 100 degrees over here.

tainui
05-03-2007, 06:35 AM
By this arguement we should just put the sensor behind the grill and plug the hole on the intake altogether. Won't get much cooler than that.

I wonder what negative effects could exist by the intake charge being hotter than indicted and the pcm not managing variables correctly? I imagine the systems overlap enough to offset any potential for damage.

cobrakid
05-03-2007, 06:39 AM
...OBSRT8.....

the 2 sensors is a very clever idea!

I am still trying to figure out, where to move my stock boxed sensor, where
it would be beneficial......but not totally out in the cold air stream?????

Inferno SRT8
05-03-2007, 12:31 PM
....ok...ok, I was actually trying to pump you for beneficial info here.....

Where might one move the sensor on a stock. but modified airbox?

thank you for your anticipated co-operation in this very important matter.
haha....thanks dude, for all of your constant help and informative posts.
When inferno talks, I listen!


Dude move that sensor into the filter section and watch those intake temps drop and be closer to ambient temps.

Lets clear up one thing here.The Dub is not chromed steel, but Stainless Steel and Stainless does not absorb heat as quickly as aluminum that the Mopar tube is made of.Your idea sounds great to trick the pcm,but what does that do for our MPG.With the cooler air the pcm is looking at it like it has not come up to temp's yet and will keep the fuel mix at a richer state than we would like for better MPG.Great for power.How about if we have 2 IAT sensors and plug into one for every day driving and the other for the track.


Its steel and either way they both absorb heat faster then rubber. And this is not a "trick" your now feeding the IAT with true ambient intake temperatures and it adjust accordingly.

Dont you think feeding the PCM/IAT 135+ degree temperatures is freaking out the timing etc? And what does that do? It slows you down because your actually getting hotter temperature signal then what is actually coming into the manifold. And the PCM adjusts to a false IAT temperature.

If your worried about MPG man you bought the wrong truck, im looking to suck every inch of power that emissions, BS regulations etc has robbed me of, and to be honest with you im getting a couple of miles better gas mileage in the city now.

The average idea I think is a bad one, the PCM is not set up as an averaging value, it wants to see 1 value and thats it, if we could get into the PCM and play a little ide say thats an good idea.

Since ive done this relocation she launches ALMOST as hard as when its cold out, I just cant compensate for the 50+ temp difference, damn mother nature!

And remember my CAI is still not fully sealed from engine heat and im seeing a very noticable difference, when I fully seal the intake from engine heat my results can only get better.

Guys I may not have the fastest SRT8 here but I have had mine ide say the longest 1st week of Febuary 2006 (1 of the first 100 built), and I know what has worked and what has not, this relocation IMHO is a MUST, especially for you guys who track your 8's!

Just sharing what I find with my fellow enthusiasts to try and find all the power the factory has hidden in all these lil power robbers lets say.

Hows2nd
05-03-2007, 01:21 PM
Dude move that sensor into the filter section and watch those intake temps drop and be closer to ambient temps.




Its steel and either way they both absorb heat faster then rubber. And this is not a "trick" your now feeding the IAT with true ambient intake temperatures and it adjust accordingly.

Dont you think feeding the PCM/IAT 135+ degree temperatures is freaking out the timing etc? And what does that do? It slows you down because your actually getting hotter temperature signal then what is actually coming into the manifold. And the PCM adjusts to a false IAT temperature.

If your worried about MPG man you bought the wrong truck, im looking to suck every inch of power that emissions, BS regulations etc has robbed me of, and to be honest with you im getting a couple of miles better gas mileage in the city now.

The average idea I think is a bad one, the PCM is not set up as an averaging value, it wants to see 1 value and thats it, if we could get into the PCM and play a little ide say thats an good idea.

Since ive done this relocation she launches ALMOST as hard as when its cold out, I just cant compensate for the 50+ temp difference, damn mother nature!

And remember my CAI is still not fully sealed from engine heat and im seeing a very noticable difference, when I fully seal the intake from engine heat my results can only get better.

Guys I may not have the fastest SRT8 here but I have had mine ide say the longest 1st week of Febuary 2006 (1 of the first 100 built), and I know what has worked and what has not, this relocation IMHO is a MUST, especially for you guys who track your 8's!

Just sharing what I find with my fellow enthusiasts to try and find all the power the factory has hidden in all these lil power robbers lets say.

Well I agree with most of the things you said, but I took delivery of mine on 1/20/06 (build date of dec 05)....so maybe your the the second longest :D

cobrakid
05-03-2007, 01:28 PM
....thanks Inferno....

I will re-locate the sensor to the backside top of the airbox housing
above the filter. right?

...will advise on results in a few weeks, I can't press my wife's nerves by
racing every Sunday. haha It's a family truck afterall right.

I want her to take her Lincoln Aviator some time. I have always wanted to
see what it would do. It has basically the Mach 1 motor (300hp) and I
put a nice custom airfilter set-up on it, and had Jon Lund (SCT guy) tweak
up the tune. That thing runs awesome too. I am thinking at least 14.5s?

My wife used to race her Firehawk occassionally 11.9 auto, with 75 shot.
....after we had kids I think she has only been to the track 1 time.

Inferno SRT8
05-03-2007, 03:07 PM
Well I agree with most of the things you said, but I took delivery of mine on 1/20/06 (build date of dec 05)....so maybe your the the second longest :D

My build date is Dec of 05 also, they may have been right next to each other on the assembly line! Got mine febuary 3rd to be exact!


....thanks Inferno....

I will re-locate the sensor to the backside top of the airbox housing
above the filter. right?

...will advise on results in a few weeks, I can't press my wife's nerves by
racing every Sunday. haha It's a family truck afterall right.

I want her to take her Lincoln Aviator some time. I have always wanted to
see what it would do. It has basically the Mach 1 motor (300hp) and I
put a nice custom airfilter set-up on it, and had Jon Lund (SCT guy) tweak
up the tune. That thing runs awesome too. I am thinking at least 14.5s?

My wife used to race her Firehawk occassionally 11.9 auto, with 75 shot.
....after we had kids I think she has only been to the track 1 time.

Try to keep it at an angle that is either middle or lower on the tube/box like the oem is, remember heat rises.

cobrakid
05-03-2007, 07:22 PM
.....another thought on the re-location.

Being it is mid 70*s out, and soon to be 80s-90s in a month.

Does the less timing retard out benefit the richer fuel mixture?

I mean lean is quicker to a point, and if moving the sensor would fatten it up,
wouldn't that hurt the warmer it gets out?

.......or does the less timing pulled b/c the computer thinks truck is cooler
give more of a benfit than leaving as is.

This is sorta aimed at Inferno.....thanks.....your thoughts sir....

Inferno SRT8
05-04-2007, 05:23 AM
.....another thought on the re-location.

Being it is mid 70*s out, and soon to be 80s-90s in a month.

Does the less timing retard out benefit the richer fuel mixture?

I mean lean is quicker to a point, and if moving the sensor would fatten it up,
wouldn't that hurt the warmer it gets out?

.......or does the less timing pulled b/c the computer thinks truck is cooler
give more of a benfit than leaving as is.

This is sorta aimed at Inferno.....thanks.....your thoughts sir....

Its getting true IAT values now, where it was before it was getting false heatsoaked values, you will be fine. Remember this is done for summer use in mind, in the winter the cold pretty much kills the heatsoak. I cant wait till cooler weather now with this relocation!!!!!

GotStroke?
05-04-2007, 12:05 PM
Nice work Tony. To the person who suggested running two IATs, just use the resistor mod at the track. I'd rather relocate the IAT though--Stang guys have done it for some time with success.

Inferno SRT8
05-04-2007, 05:05 PM
Nice work Tony. To the person who suggested running two IATs, just use the resistor mod at the track. I'd rather relocate the IAT though--Stang guys have done it for some time with success.


Thanks!

Its responding ALOT better in hot weather then it used too.

jlandbl
05-17-2007, 06:05 AM
You guys see this from last night's SRT Eng session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ResumeSpeed
Quite a few SRT8 owners have, or are planning to, change the location of the IAT sensor. Evidentally they feel that you guys did not put it in the "ideal" location. Can you give us the scoop on the benefits, if any, and the drawbacks if any, of relocating the sensor?

SRT Engineer Answer:
"The IAT location is a compromise between many different factors. Since the calibration is performed after the sensor locations are determined, moving the sensor could have an adverse affect on engine control. I would not recommend moving it."
SRT Engineer Answer #2:
"In fact, as the fuel control cals move , and with lower grade fuels around the country, the Knock system becomes more active , the less spark advance , and performance."

JTSRT
05-19-2007, 01:57 PM
Lets clear up one thing here.The Dub is not chromed steel, but Stainless Steel and Stainless does not absorb heat as quickly as aluminum that the Mopar tube is made of.Your idea sounds great to trick the pcm,but what does that do for our MPG.With the cooler air the pcm is looking at it like it has not come up to temp's yet and will keep the fuel mix at a richer state than we would like for better MPG.Great for power.How about if we have 2 IAT sensors and plug into one for every day driving and the other for the track.


I wrapped my DUB with thermo-core lace up insulation. Looks nice and comes right off if you want to show it. Supposed to decrease 98% of heat from coming in. I think I payed $44 for it and didn't use half of it to cover the tube.

gculver
05-19-2007, 02:17 PM
I wrapped my DUB with thermo-core lace up insulation. Looks nice and comes right off if you want to show it. Supposed to decrease 98% of heat from coming in. I think I payed $44 for it and didn't use half of it to cover the tube.

Kinda like this:1522 Cheap way to beat the heat!!

teda
05-19-2007, 02:39 PM
Kinda like this:1522 Cheap way to beat the heat!!

Googled it "G", but could not find it. How about a heads up on where you purchased it. Thanks...

gculver
05-19-2007, 02:47 PM
Googled it "G", but could not find it. How about a heads up on where you purchased it. Thanks...

Teda, here ya go bro:http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10001_10002_752483_-1_10261

If you want it to look real nice(custom), a little sewing is involved- but nothing someone with sewing experience can't handle!!

johnny--2k
09-24-2007, 01:47 AM
OK, old thread, sorry for the resurrection, but would this work with the factory airbox as well? If so, where would be the best place to put it?

JTSRT
09-24-2007, 07:02 AM
Lets clear up one thing here.The Dub is not chromed steel, but Stainless Steel and Stainless does not absorb heat as quickly as aluminum that the Mopar tube is made of.Your idea sounds great to trick the pcm,but what does that do for our MPG.With the cooler air the pcm is looking at it like it has not come up to temp's yet and will keep the fuel mix at a richer state than we would like for better MPG.Great for power.How about if we have 2 IAT sensors and plug into one for every day driving and the other for the track.


I have the DUB and wrapped it in thermo-core rap, seems to help...Cheap mod for cooling intake air.

JTSRT
09-24-2007, 07:05 AM
Kinda like this:1522 Cheap way to beat the heat!!


Exactly!!! Great minds think alike. I also purchased mine at Jegs.