Grand Cherokee srt-10 [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: Grand Cherokee srt-10


srt8 for me
04-04-2007, 06:49 AM
i was wondering can i install a 8.3 v10 in my srt8 ????????????:confused:

Green Light
04-04-2007, 07:39 AM
My uneducated guess would be no. That engine sounds too big to fit in our engine bay. I'll be awaiting other answers.

akatheproducer
04-04-2007, 07:51 AM
i would say the money your going to spend yu should wait for the 6.4 L

srt8 for me
04-04-2007, 08:03 AM
i would say the money your going to spend yu should wait for the 6.4 L

i can go with a 7.0L but its not a V10 8.3L :D

Go~RillaWRX
04-04-2007, 08:38 AM
the 8.3 is a very very large motor. I would say it is 50% longer than the 6.1, so i would say no. But, with time and lots of $ anything is possible.

slow91
04-04-2007, 10:14 AM
i was wondering can i install a 8.3 v10 in my srt8 ????????????:confused:

Unlimited budget.....ANYTHING can be done.

runnin 9s
04-04-2007, 10:44 AM
I think that Tony Hawk has one in his.

capitalst
04-04-2007, 10:02 PM
I'm pretty sure you can fit it. I found online a guy out fit a Jeep Wrangler with a Viper V10. So if a Wrangler can fit it then i would say there should be no problem fitting it in a Grand Cherokee. But, hey I'm not a mech. so I could be wrong. I will see if I can find the site again.

FastSRT8GC
04-04-2007, 10:24 PM
Not sure why, Very little gain in HP, 30 and TQ 70. THat would be a lot of money for very little improvement.

Now to do it just to be different and your Jay Leno then i understand.

MatFab
04-04-2007, 10:26 PM
Unlimited budget.....ANYTHING can be done.

exactly... i can do it for you.

Meticulous Fabrications, Milford Michigan

boomer
04-04-2007, 11:04 PM
Not sure why, Very little gain in HP, 30 and TQ 70. THat would be a lot of money for very little improvement.

Now to do it just to be different and your Jay Leno then i understand.
stock #s yes, not much gain. but IMO if i had money to shoe horn a v-10 in my gc i probably wouldn't put a stock one in. i know it is not a name to put out there but Hennessy makes over 1000 horses with his v-10s. i'm know fabricater or mechanic; just another angle to see the big picture.:o

GotStroke?
04-05-2007, 12:02 AM
stock #s yes, not much gain. but IMO if i had money to shoe horn a v-10 in my gc i probably wouldn't put a stock one in. i know it is not a name to put out there but Hennessy makes over 1000 horses with his v-10s. i'm know fabricater or mechanic; just another angle to see the big picture.:o


There are a few 1400rwhp turbo Vipers running straight 93 octane (not Hennessey).

HoustonSRT-8
04-05-2007, 12:03 AM
If the Vipers can be tuned, why can't we?

srt8 for me
04-05-2007, 02:23 AM
Not sure why, Very little gain in HP, 30 and TQ 70. THat would be a lot of money for very little improvement.

Now to do it just to be different and your Jay Leno then i understand.

OK your right but if you say you have a V10 viper in your car with 1000HP that well be coll + fast and as they say there is no replacement for displacement :D

srt8 for me
04-05-2007, 07:19 AM
I'm pretty sure you can fit it. I found online a guy out fit a Jeep Wrangler with a Viper V10. So if a Wrangler can fit it then i would say there should be no problem fitting it in a Grand Cherokee. But, hey I'm not a mech. so I could be wrong. I will see if I can find the site again.
the installation well fit Wat i wander is the computer ???????:eek:

soccerjunky
04-05-2007, 09:12 PM
or u could get the 08 viper 8.4L 600hp or u could enter the vca raffle

Blown-WK
04-06-2007, 10:16 AM
Just forge the ballz outta the 6.1 and throw about 22psi at it.

HoustonSRT-8
04-08-2007, 10:15 PM
Just forge the ballz outta the 6.1 and throw about 22psi at it.
And tune it with what?

ronald mcglothlin
04-08-2007, 11:01 PM
7.0 is so close to the v-10 and when the computer code is broken and you can use other than stock cam in the 426 I really think the v-10 will be the second choice

GotStroke?
04-09-2007, 12:47 AM
7.0 is so close to the v-10 and when the computer code is broken and you can use other than stock cam in the 426 I really think the v-10 will be the second choice

The V10 will still make more power, especially the revised version coming in the freshened Viper. Let's not forget that you can stroke the Viper out to 540CI/8.9L.

blu04srt4
04-09-2007, 06:19 AM
How much are we talking to put a V10 into a Jeep?

HoustonSRT-8
04-09-2007, 08:36 AM
How much are we talking to put a V10 into a Jeep?
Nobody has mentioned anything about or has any clue how much this would cost. Safe to say......more than $19.99.

ronald mcglothlin
04-09-2007, 10:05 AM
It is bigger that is correct. The bigger the more power you can make, but the hemi heads are a better design than the viper

Blown-WK
04-09-2007, 11:33 AM
And tune it with what?
An Electromotive Tec3. My buddy runs one on his blown Jeep and it works great and has unlimited tuning ability.

GotStroke?
04-09-2007, 11:39 AM
It is bigger that is correct. The bigger the more power you can make, but the hemi heads are a better design than the viper


Not the revised V10 heads. Potential HP is decided in the cylinder head, how much of that potential is reached is determined by the associated components: Shortblock, intake, cam(s), etc.

HoustonSRT-8
04-09-2007, 12:02 PM
An Electromotive Tec3. My buddy runs one on his blown Jeep and it works great and has unlimited tuning ability.
How come no one uses that here?

GotStroke?
04-09-2007, 12:02 PM
$$$ and time. Not to mention there are going to be issues getting the Emotive standalone to communicate with our PCM/TCM.

Blown-WK
04-09-2007, 02:59 PM
$$$ and time. Not to mention there are going to be issues getting the Emotive standalone to communicate with our PCM/TCM.
Yeah its not a plug-n-play affair but with some time it can be tuned to handle anything. I wouldnt think 2500 bucks is a horrible price considering how much more a stroker/supercharged setup would cost to build and god forbid ever have to rebuild due to failure from sub-par tuning.

GotStroke?
04-09-2007, 05:05 PM
Yeah its not a plug-n-play affair but with some time it can be tuned to handle anything. I wouldnt think 2500 bucks is a horrible price considering how much more a stroker/supercharged setup would cost to build and god forbid ever have to rebuild due to failure from sub-par tuning.


No, the price alone isn't enough to scare anyone away, but the wiring is, for me anyway. I'm still hoping/waiting on SCT, as I really don't think we should have to run a stand alone to do basic tuning. Fingers crossed.

ronald mcglothlin
04-09-2007, 08:29 PM
Not the revised V10 heads. Potential HP is decided in the cylinder head, how much of that potential is reached is determined by the associated components: Shortblock, intake, cam(s), etc.
Very true but the ported 6.1 heads do flow better than most any thing out there. Every thing else can, the rest of the components can be balanced out for the flow of the heads.

GotStroke?
04-09-2007, 09:41 PM
Very true but the ported 6.1 heads do flow better than most any thing out there. Every thing else can, the rest of the components can be balanced out for the flow of the heads.


The bottom line is you can make enough power with either and the right turbo that you'll either blow your driveline or never put it to the ground. Ultimately though, DCX V10 > V8.

Blown-WK
04-10-2007, 09:40 AM
No, the price alone isn't enough to scare anyone away, but the wiring is, for me anyway. I'm still hoping/waiting on SCT, as I really don't think we should have to run a stand alone to do basic tuning. Fingers crossed.
I totally agree. If there was a more simple alternative to our tuning issues I would jump all over it. I hear through the grapevine that tuning capability will be available within the next month. However, it might be via a handheld device.