kooks headers...rough idle [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: kooks headers...rough idle


tommy25000
03-26-2007, 11:56 PM
I installed cooks... yes it rips, however, the idle is hurt pretty bad... im not sure why? any help

Hows2nd
03-27-2007, 12:38 AM
I installed cooks... yes it rips, however, the idle is hurt pretty bad... im not sure why? any help

Check and make sure you didn't switch the o2 sensors.

tommy25000
03-27-2007, 02:54 AM
switch how? theres only 2 right?

Inferno SRT8
03-27-2007, 05:07 AM
No there is 4, 2 primary 2 secondary, if you swapped a primary with a scondary you will have problems. The 2 primary are for fuel managment.

tommy25000
03-27-2007, 02:17 PM
that might be it

robertk59
03-27-2007, 02:34 PM
Not sure how it is on the newer vehicles, but on my 98 5.9 Grand Cherokee when putting on mods like headers, heads, intake, etc... it took a little bit of time for the computer to learn the new mods. It may level out in a bit.

GodfatherSRT8
03-27-2007, 09:20 PM
Guys I just drove Tommys jeep and it was sweeeet. The jeep feels so much lighter, breathes so much better. This is def. my next mod. I can't wait to get those headers on my truck.

It was great meeting you Tommy.Thanks for taking the time bro to show me your truck.

gbusy1906
03-27-2007, 09:56 PM
Tommy, is there a noticable difference in noise in the cabin. I am interested but don't like too much noise in the interior. Also, how is the idle situation now and do you see an improvement in GAS mileage.

thanks,
Busy

tommy25000
03-27-2007, 10:40 PM
just so everyone know my truck is running so ****ty that when me and godfather raced from a roll it was dead even... there WAS a huge difference in power at first. i think i have bad sensors... noise in cab is not much more.
its going in tomorrow so things get worked out before the cam next week.
it is a great mod im just getting the bugs out. i can hardly keep it running at the moment.

kramsay1234
03-27-2007, 11:11 PM
are you saying there is no increase in noise with the headers?

tommy25000
03-27-2007, 11:29 PM
there is but not like adding exhaust...

oman srt8
03-28-2007, 07:29 AM
Hi Tommy

Can You Post Pic For The Headers Plz I Wont To See It Fit In The Gc:)srt8

Or Any One Has The Pic ..........

oman srt8
03-28-2007, 07:32 AM
Hi Tommy

Can You Post Pic For The Headers ?? I Like To See It Fit In The Gc Srt8:)

Or Any One Has The Pic

generalconfusion
03-28-2007, 02:30 PM
just so everyone know my truck is running so ****ty that when me and godfather raced from a roll it was dead even... there WAS a huge difference in power at first. i think i have bad sensors... noise in cab is not much more.
its going in tomorrow so things get worked out before the cam next week.
it is a great mod im just getting the bugs out. i can hardly keep it running at the moment.

Is it running fat???......loading up?? You have a sims installed?? Disconnect it.

tommy25000
03-28-2007, 02:50 PM
Hi Tommy

Can You Post Pic For The Headers ?? I Like To See It Fit In The Gc Srt8:)

Or Any One Has The Pic


to get a pic it ould need to be on a lift. you cannot see them unless you really look for them

HoustonSRT-8
03-28-2007, 03:14 PM
Is it running fat???......loading up?? You have a sims installed?? Disconnect it.
Good point. Try taking the Hennessey sims out and see if it runs any better.

generalconfusion
03-28-2007, 07:55 PM
Good point. Try taking the Hennessey sims out and see if it runs any better.

Exactly........been there! The sims will cause the engine to run richer. The o2 sensors send signals back and forth....that consists of lean then rich mixtures in order for the cat system to light off.

If the motor is loading up and wont idle it is the sims......and the JetChip probably doesnt help.

Black_SRT8
03-31-2007, 09:13 PM
update????

tommy25000
03-31-2007, 09:19 PM
jeep dealer thinks it was the connecttors for the sensors... i knew kooks sent all left side conectors... thought they would work... im waiting for update

Black_SRT8
03-31-2007, 09:34 PM
So it wasn't an installation error? I am from the Cities and was thinking about using the dealer you recommended - now I am having second thoughts...

The track is opening soon, usually we get a few SRT8's together, are you down?...

generalconfusion
03-31-2007, 11:00 PM
jeep dealer thinks it was the connecttors for the sensors... i knew kooks sent all left side conectors... thought they would work... im waiting for update



What!!!!!!:eek:

generalconfusion
03-31-2007, 11:25 PM
What!!!!!!:eek:

That doesnt make sense......did you ever remove the sims??

tommy25000
04-02-2007, 08:01 PM
my mistake... the writer explained it wrong... my sims are out... i will find out tomrrow what all they actually did but it is running perfect with out the sims

generalconfusion
04-02-2007, 11:15 PM
my mistake... the writer explained it wrong... my sims are out... i will find out tomrrow what all they actually did but it is running perfect with out the sims

The sims send the wrong signal back to the ECU.........LOL......the 06 guys did all this last year!