Jet with kooks [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: Jet with kooks


tommy25000
03-25-2007, 12:35 AM
need advice on tune.

tommy25000
03-25-2007, 12:38 AM
I have just installed the kooks LT's. sounds AMAZING!!!!!! A MUST DO GUYS.

the question I have is should i run my jet stage 2 chip now that i have headers???
current mods CAI, magnaflow, 180*t stat, KOOKS off road and soon a cam.


I am going to have B&G make the tune when the cam is installed in 2 weeks but I am woundering if the jet chip is not set up to run with LT headers...??? anyone???

GodfatherSRT8
03-25-2007, 02:22 AM
Since the chip is so easy to remove, I would try it both with and without and see what you like/feel is better.

tommy25000
03-25-2007, 02:27 AM
Its really too hard to do it that way. these pcms are very strange and i am unsure of their learning process. on the dyno prior to the kooks i gained one hp on the first run after no chip but then it just kept going down... Im looking for more info pleeeeeaaaaasssse

What do all you motor heads think

Inferno SRT8
03-25-2007, 06:31 AM
Dont use the jetchip JMHO should be called junkchip.

GotStroke?
03-25-2007, 04:00 PM
I'd pitch the Jet as well, just wait on the B&G.

HoustonSRT-8
03-26-2007, 09:44 AM
Anyone have problems with warranty work with the Kooks installed?

Inferno SRT8
03-26-2007, 03:58 PM
Anyone have problems with warranty work with the Kooks installed?


My dealer is mod friendly so Ill say no, also the Magnuson act prevents them from voiding warranty for simple bolt ons.

tommy25000
03-26-2007, 11:40 PM
threw the jet out.... still idles hard....

GotStroke?
03-27-2007, 01:03 AM
Did you clear the PCM by disconnecting the battery or with a scanner?

tommy25000
03-27-2007, 02:53 AM
i will try that... its been a few hundered miles... should have to i thought...

GotStroke?
03-27-2007, 10:23 AM
Take off the neg. cable to the battery and step on the brake pedal for around 10 seconds to clean out any charge leftover. Reattach and go.

generalconfusion
03-29-2007, 11:25 AM
Anyone have problems with warranty work with the Kooks installed?

I have not.

generalconfusion
03-29-2007, 11:28 AM
Its really too hard to do it that way. these pcms are very strange and i am unsure of their learning process. on the dyno prior to the kooks i gained one hp on the first run after no chip but then it just kept going down... Im looking for more info pleeeeeaaaaasssse

What do all you motor heads think

Did the hp keep going down after each run by 5-10 hp? If it did it was due to heat soak. Did you do each run back to back? Did the dyno room have large fans to cool down the engine bay?