Dyno [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: Dyno


tommy25000
03-21-2007, 07:51 PM
I started this thread for one purpose.
please list your dyno #'s w/ mods and or quartermile times... lets see what this forum is made of.


ANYONE LOOKING FOR A AWD DYNO IN THEIR STATE PM ME.

tommy25000
03-21-2007, 07:57 PM
I ran my truck on the dyno today. conditions are as follows
58.17*F, 29.42 in-hg, humidity 58%, uncorrected: 1.00


Max power=356.45
Max Torque=357.02
this is obvioulsy all wheel hp.
A/F ratio 12.4- 12.6 steady up to 4700 then went to 12.1 to 12 flat to redline

also for the record this is w/out kooks. they go on friday. I will post the dyno results before and after for that also. and this was done on a dyno jet
also these where 3rd gear pulls i believe
one note... my transfer case feels like its binding on and off... may have lost power to that, overall happy with these #'s

mods at time of dyno GS cai, magnaflow, jet chip.
we also tried to run it w/ out the chip... lost 6hp after disconecting the battery. this figure is inconclusive in my opinion. the hp numbers kept changing wehen the chip was out... pcm was confused.

Goldengreek5
03-21-2007, 08:02 PM
7 months ago ran a 13.4@101.56. Mods were gs cai, corsa exhaust. 2nd run of the night then I had to leave. Hope to be in the high 12's next month!!

tommy25000
03-22-2007, 01:28 AM
Is anyone in the 400awhp range yet?

FastSRT8GC
03-22-2007, 08:07 AM
There are a few with heads and cam. They for sure will be in the 400's. I should receive my H/C in a week or so. I will try to dyno it before and after.

GotStroke?
03-22-2007, 09:24 AM
We need to pay more attention to the gear used to dyno in. I don't think anyone's broken 400whp in 4th gear with H/C yet.

tommy25000
03-22-2007, 10:47 AM
400 awhp is a F*CK load. cant wait to see how its done!!!!

GotStroke?
03-22-2007, 11:38 AM
Matt/Dynamic Racing made 420/417 awhp/awtq with his H/C with aftermarket CAI and stock exhaust from manifolds to tailpipe. That was a third gear pull fwiw.

FastSRT8GC
03-22-2007, 12:50 PM
We need to pay more attention to the gear used to dyno in. I don't think anyone's broken 400whp in 4th gear with H/C yet.

Why would they be doing 4th gear pulls? I alway thought most cars 3rd was best for true #,s... But I don't know much about dynos.

I guess we will have to recommend 3rd gear pulls to our dynoers.

Thanks of the heads up Stroked!!

rainmaker
03-22-2007, 12:57 PM
Why would they be doing 4th gear pulls? I alway thought most cars 3rd was best for true #,s... But I don't know much about dynos.

I guess we will have to recommend 3rd gear pulls to our dynoers.

Thanks of the heads up Stroked!!

When I did my dyno pulls I did them in fourth. FWIW fourth is 1:1 gear ratio, third is 1.41:1. You want a gear ratio as close to 1 as possible for accuracy. Anything above or below that might give false numbers.

http://www.wkjeeps.com/wk_srt8_specs.htm

FastSRT8GC
03-22-2007, 01:02 PM
When I did my dyno pulls I did them in fourth. FWIW fourth is 1:1 gear ratio, third is 1.41:1. You want a gear ratio as close to 1 as possible for accuracy. Anything above or below that might give false numbers.

http://www.wkjeeps.com/wk_srt8_specs.htm

AH.... Now i remember being told that a long time ago .... 1:1 true.

SH1T now i am confuse. I think i will do both and display whatever HP # is better:rolleyes:

rainmaker
03-22-2007, 01:22 PM
AH.... Now i remember being told that a long time ago .... 1:1 true.

SH1T now i am confuse. I think i will do both and display whatever HP # is better:rolleyes:


In that case dyno in first and let us know how you do. ;)

GotStroke?
03-22-2007, 01:40 PM
You can always dyno in both gears, third will end up being higher.

Like rainmaker said, 4th is a direct 1:1 in the trans and usually represents the most accurate power readings. I'm not sure why I've seen so many third gear dynos with our SRT8s.
When stainless works did the before dyno with my Jeep they used third gear, claiming fourth took too long?

jeep-girl
03-22-2007, 02:27 PM
You can always dyno in both gears, third will end up being higher.

Like rainmaker said, 4th is a direct 1:1 in the trans and usually represents the most accurate power readings. I'm not sure why I've seen so many third gear dynos with our SRT8s.
When stainless works did the before dyno with my Jeep they used third gear, claiming fourth took too long?

GotStroke. That is exactly what they told me when doing my baseline dyno this week so my dyno was done with third gear locked. Now I am confused should we have had them give me a reading in 4th gear?:confused:

FastMatt
03-22-2007, 02:37 PM
You can always dyno in both gears, third will end up being higher.

Like rainmaker said, 4th is a direct 1:1 in the trans and usually represents the most accurate power readings. I'm not sure why I've seen so many third gear dynos with our SRT8s.
When stainless works did the before dyno with my Jeep they used third gear, claiming fourth took too long?

the problem with 4th gear pulls seems to be that the pull is to SUCH a high MPH the car heat soaks so bad sitting still that it starts to loose power. The the SRT-8 cars seem to be much worse then the Jeeps with this. The cars with there stock 29" tall tires and barely over 3.00 gearing pull 167mph in 4th gear even to the stock rev limiter. That’s a LONG dyno pull for a car making 400 or less RWHP. And no real air moving threw the Eng compartment.


the Jeeps with 3.73 gears don’t seem to have such a problem and the difference in 3rd to 4th gear pulls is only a few HP.

BDNJ
03-22-2007, 10:50 PM
I agree Matt. I haven't seen more than a 5 hp improvement from the 3rd gear pull vs 4th. Also, I feel I'm right at about 400awhp if you add for the stall deduction. I have done 12+ pulls in 4th; very consistent, although I'm still too rich!

I will be posting a video of my 4th gear pull any second now!:rolleyes: Didn't take to long to get to redline.

Brendan

tommy25000
03-23-2007, 11:36 AM
any dyno #'s w/ kooks, cai and exhaust???

tommy25000
03-24-2007, 04:31 AM
kooks are in. cam in 2 weeks

MNBob
03-24-2007, 08:05 PM
tommy25000, are you planning to get another dyno reading before the cam? I would be interested to see how much of an increase with just the Kooks.

Also, with the time to install the headers, I think the charge was quite reasonable. They are not too far from here (Eden Prairie). Please, let us know if you can run these without CEL lights.

tommy25000
03-25-2007, 01:20 AM
tommy25000, are you planning to get another dyno reading before the cam? I would be interested to see how much of an increase with just the Kooks.

Also, with the time to install the headers, I think the charge was quite reasonable. They are not too far from here (Eden Prairie). Please, let us know if you can run these without CEL lights.

No CEL so far (100miles) with the hennessey sims... compared to 10 minutes until it cam on with out...
I will dyno it on the exact same dyno this week prior to the cam. I feel this truck needs a tune...

mn bob
headers install $600 labor
cam $1000 labor.
phone #952 446 1497. mention me Tom Redmond. talk to anyone there.
great people.
pm me if you need more info or help.

GotStroke?
03-25-2007, 11:04 AM
So who's going to buy a set of Hennessy's SIMS to hack apart, reverse engineer, and make their own for sale at a more reasonable price? coughBuilderBillcough

I'm ready to donate via PayPal. :)

tommy25000
04-03-2007, 05:18 PM
F*ck the sims. im going to get my truck dynoed tomorrow hopefully on the same dyno as befor the heades... i will post asap

generalconfusion
04-03-2007, 06:10 PM
CLICK TWICE ON SHEET FOR LARGER VIEW These runs show the effects of cooler temps and the fact that a homemade Xpipe and Bazzani race cores still could not make more power than the stock exhaust! The Mopar/ Corsa eventually did make a tuning change and you have to really look at the graph to see the hp and tq spread in the mid range.


Stock vs Mopar back to back......no headers stock cai.....this is an true 4 wheel DTS eddy current dyno.

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j66/sgtstanko/aguilarcorsa1.jpg

Dyno jet all wheel... stock engine comparing temp afffects on horsepower and torque with NO air box

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j66/sgtstanko/5.jpg

Dyno jet all wheel.... stock engine temps with stock air box

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j66/sgtstanko/4.jpg

My exhaust and Xpipe at temps.....proving factory exhaust has good airflow.

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j66/sgtstanko/2.jpg

my homemade exhaust..http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j66/sgtstanko/srt8exhaust0081.jpg

195 vs 220 degrees..http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j66/sgtstanko/steve-gcsrt8-2.jpg

tommy25000
04-03-2007, 06:52 PM
thats a rwd dyno??
and tell me how fast is your E55. my favorite car. its gotta run 11's

generalconfusion
04-03-2007, 07:05 PM
thats a rwd dyno??
and tell me how fast is your E55. my favorite car. its gotta run 11's

All wheel with 2 rollers is DynoJet.....the awd which is a DTS eddie current dyno has 4 rollers and your tires set inside two rollers per side.....dyno jet has a site to locate their all wheel dyno installs in your area.

The E55 is a beast and reacts to changes immediately. They have tunes but all are generic.....I have a tuner now who can dyno tune it...that is next. The car makes SO MUCH torque it is violent. I cant run it yet until I put bigger tires in the back. It gets absolutely no traction.

This weekend i wanted to run it at Fontana/ California Speedway but it looks like the Jeep is going!

tommy25000
04-03-2007, 07:10 PM
please bring them both. that car is insane. how much $$ do you have into it if you dont mind me asking?

generalconfusion
04-03-2007, 07:53 PM
please bring them both. that car is insane. how much $$ do you have into it if you dont mind me asking?

The mods are worth about $8,600 labor and parts.....not to mention the 92k for the car.

GotStroke?
04-03-2007, 07:56 PM
$8600 for a pulley, tune, and TB... Wow. :eek:

tommy25000
04-03-2007, 08:03 PM
$8600 for a pulley, tune, and TB... Wow. :eek:


thats amg and MB for ya. but for anyone who has not driven an AMG your missing out. i have driven many and they are unbelievable. sorry i know this is a jeep forum, but, i just have never know anyone who has modded theirs... exciting stuff. that 4 door car ill break 200mph with those mods and run 11's all day with traction... all in complete luxury:D

FastSRT8GC
04-03-2007, 08:26 PM
All wheel with 2 rollers is DynoJet.....the awd which is a DTS eddie current dyno has 4 rollers and your tires set inside two rollers per side.....dyno jet has a site to locate their all wheel dyno installs in your area.

The E55 is a beast and reacts to changes immediately. They have tunes but all are generic.....I have a tuner now who can dyno tune it...that is next. The car makes SO MUCH torque it is violent. I cant run it yet until I put bigger tires in the back. It gets absolutely no traction.

This weekend i wanted to run it at Fontana/ California Speedway but it looks like the Jeep is going!


I guess the AMG side has same issues we do with the ECU

GotStroke?
04-03-2007, 08:53 PM
thats amg and MB for ya. but for anyone who has not driven an AMG your missing out. i have driven many and they are unbelievable. sorry i know this is a jeep forum, but, i just have never know anyone who has modded theirs... exciting stuff. that 4 door car ill break 200mph with those mods and run 11's all day with traction... all in complete luxury:D


I realize it's a capitalist market, but that's Hennessey style ridiculous. The same mods to a 03/04 Terminator or even GT500 would cost well under a grand.
Can't say I would leave a blown V8 or turbo V12 AMG stock either though. :) Very low mile '06/'07 AMG CLS55s are becoming quite affordable these days, I'd love to have one as a daily driver.

tommy25000
04-03-2007, 08:59 PM
I guess the AMG side has same issues we do with the ECU


both ecus i believe are made by the same people?

tommy25000
04-04-2007, 04:07 PM
just left the dyno...
before the headers Max power=356.45 Max Torque=357.02
after headers max power= 369 and tourque was 372

this is ok i guess??? i thought i would see more. i have alot of grinding in my transfer case, I am asuming this will take away power...?

anyways before headers these #'s where put down with jet chip, gs cai, and magnaflow. after #'s where w/ the addition of headers and minus the chip because its junk.

FastSRT8GC
04-04-2007, 04:31 PM
very nice improvement for just headers and removing Jetchip

tommy25000
04-05-2007, 01:19 AM
has anyone dynoed the dr heads????

GotStroke?
04-05-2007, 01:42 AM
Do you have a catback Tommy, and are those AW or RW numbers? Corrected?

tommy25000
04-05-2007, 10:06 AM
Do you have a catback Tommy, and are those AW or RW numbers? Corrected?

yes i have magnaflow. the #'s are corrected.
i am going to be getting corsa soon. magnaflow is a great product, but, even with headers it so quiet.

generalconfusion
04-05-2007, 12:10 PM
I guess the AMG side has same issues we do with the ECU

Not really.....they can actually modify the MAPS and have been doing it for sometime. The program is available to actually tune it with a lap top while on the dyno.......of course this takes 4-6 hours and costs about $1,000- 1,200 but you know what you got!

generalconfusion
04-05-2007, 12:12 PM
just left the dyno...
before the headers Max power=356.45 Max Torque=357.02
after headers max power= 369 and tourque was 372

this is ok i guess??? i thought i would see more. i have alot of grinding in my transfer case, I am asuming this will take away power...?

anyways before headers these #'s where put down with jet chip, gs cai, and magnaflow. after #'s where w/ the addition of headers and minus the chip because its junk.

I did not make it to my appointment......but those #'s would be right on to what DXC is claiming for long tubes vs the stock set up. There not the 40hp Kook's claimed!

tommy25000
04-05-2007, 12:23 PM
I did not make it to my appointment......but those #'s would be right on to what DXC is claiming for long tubes vs the stock set up. There not the 40hp Kook's claimed!


yea... where is that 40 F*cking hp??????? pissed me off... but you win some you lose some. you should have heard the STI and EVO guys at the shop...
he said "not bad man... spend a couple hundered on headers and a couple hundered on install... good gains." i was are you kidding bro? headers $1500 plus, install 600...i would say a couple hundered is off! damn those imports.

Blown-WK
04-05-2007, 12:57 PM
Haha yeah they think in terms of 4 cylinders. Everything is half as much.

GotStroke?
04-05-2007, 01:59 PM
yea... where is that 40 F*cking hp??????? pissed me off... but you win some you lose some. you should have heard the STI and EVO guys at the shop...
he said "not bad man... spend a couple hundered on headers and a couple hundered on install... good gains." i was are you kidding bro? headers $1500 plus, install 600...i would say a couple hundered is off! damn those imports.


To be fair the only way to know correct before/after numbers would be to tune prior and after, which we can't do. In no way am I saying Kooks is claiming what they should.

BuilderBill
04-05-2007, 04:01 PM
I did not make it to my appointment......but those #'s would be right on to what DXC is claiming for long tubes vs the stock set up. There not the 40hp Kook's claimed!
The exact numbers I would expect to see, 10-15 hp gain headers only.

PS. Thanks for the PM General!!!!
Bill

generalconfusion
04-05-2007, 10:10 PM
The exact numbers I would expect to see, 10-15 hp gain headers only.

PS. Thanks for the PM General!!!!
Bill

10-4!!!;) ;) Bill

Considering the somewhat aggressive sound of the headers......I am contemplating removing them and going back to the stock system......especially in California......

GotStroke?
04-05-2007, 10:53 PM
10-4!!!;) ;) Bill

Considering the somewhat aggressive sound of the headers......I am contemplating removing them and going back to the stock system......especially in California......


You'll want them on again if you go H/C;)

generalconfusion
04-05-2007, 11:06 PM
You'll want them on again if you go H/C;)


Good point..........however I would wait for what could be coming out soon on the horizon before I tear into the engine.......oh God I sound like Gene!

GotStroke?
04-05-2007, 11:15 PM
Good point..........however I would wait for what could be coming out soon on the horizon before I tear into the engine.......oh God I sound like Gene!

LMAO.

Thinking turbo?

BuilderBill
04-06-2007, 01:56 AM
Good point..........however I would wait for what could be coming out soon on the horizon before I tear into the engine.......oh God I sound like Gene!
Ol' Gene...kinda miss the secret source though!
Bill

tommy25000
10-24-2007, 09:02 PM
thats a rwd dyno??
and tell me how fast is your E55. my favorite car. its gotta run 11's

thats from page 3.
This made me laugh... I never thought i would get one this early in my life :)