100 Octane Fuel [Archive] - Cherokee SRT8 Forum

: 100 Octane Fuel

Squilly D
03-07-2007, 06:07 AM
Good morning

Has anyone tried using some 100+ octane fuel in the JGC? If so, was there any noticeable performance gains? I may be going to the track this weekend and am thinking about getting some if it increases performance.

FastSRT8GC
03-07-2007, 07:25 AM
You will have gains. Cleaner hotter burn = More HP!

Just dont go above 100 octane You get into Leaded gas then.

kramsay1234
03-07-2007, 07:33 AM
I am no expert, so just sharing what I have read.

With stock ECU you will get no noticeable gains as the computer is not designed to adjust up for higher octane. My understanding is that it will not hurt anything, but adding more octane to a system that already has all that it was designed for will yield nothing. This is why ECU chips come in different octane modes, because everything in the computer has been forced adjusted upwards for the higher octane. If you have a 100 octane chip and run 93 octane fuel you will do damage. But if you have a 91 octane setup and run 93 fuel you are just spending more money for octane you don't need.

The computer for safety will retard timing, etc if you put in lower than 91 fuel as part of the knock sensor, but I have just not heard anything to lead me to believe that the computer will adjust upwards.

Again, I am no expert so if I am incorrect, or if someone has proven different, then please share.
________
MAGIC FLIGHT LAUNCH BOX REVIEW (http://mflbvaporizer.com)

GRNENVY
03-07-2007, 07:39 AM
You only get a benifit from using higher octane if the car calls for it or tuned for it. I actually have seen cars slow down even mine.

I am no expert, so just sharing what I have read.