Cherokee SRT8 Forum banner

Windshield Wipers Cycle once the key is turned..?

43K views 25 replies 16 participants last post by  calvin.odom 
#1 ·
Hey guys Im new to these trucks and just got me a 2008 Jeep SRT-8. I was wondering if it is normal for the windshield wipers to cycle just one time when the key is turned on or off. Is there a setting for this? All of the wipers front and back work fine, and I have the front wipers on the off position. Its just if I go get in the truck now and turn the key on the wipers will make one cycle, same when I turn the ignition off.

#3 ·
They are clean. And I have the wiper switch in the (o) position.

#5 ·
When you say auto mode did you mean rain sense mode? I have that turned off in the system settings and the switch works perfect. Not quite sure why the wipers cycle when I turn the key... Very strange!

#6 ·
Mine does it too. It's a real pain at the track when you have your car number and et written on the windshield and the wipers smear it every time you start the truck

#11 ·
LOL Matt! Mine just quit doing it after turning auto mode off in the system settings. It seems if I use my washer fluid to clean my windshield it will do it till the next day and then stops by itself.

#13 ·
I have an 06 and the wipers usually cycle when I turn the ignition on. It's a 90% of the time for me but I narrowed it down to just the windshield being a little dirty. Mine don't cycle for a day and a half after a car wash, but then the windshield gets a little dusty from the parking garage and the wipers start a cycle when I turn the ignition.

So: dirty windshield (could be just dust) or a leaf on the sensor? idn..

#15 ·