100 Octane Fuel - Cherokee SRT8 Forum
WK1 General Performance Discussion If you are planning on modifying your Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 with a performance enhancing modification, this is the section to post about it.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-07-2007, 06:07 AM Thread Starter

100 Octane Fuel

Good morning

Has anyone tried using some 100+ octane fuel in the JGC? If so, was there any noticeable performance gains? I may be going to the track this weekend and am thinking about getting some if it increases performance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-07-2007, 07:25 AM
Major Contributing Member

Re: 100 Octane Fuel

You will have gains. Cleaner hotter burn = More HP!

Just dont go above 100 octane You get into Leaded gas then.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-07-2007, 07:33 AM
Lifetime Premium Member

I am no expert, so just sharing what I have read.

With stock ECU you will get no noticeable gains as the computer is not designed to adjust up for higher octane. My understanding is that it will not hurt anything, but adding more octane to a system that already has all that it was designed for will yield nothing. This is why ECU chips come in different octane modes, because everything in the computer has been forced adjusted upwards for the higher octane. If you have a 100 octane chip and run 93 octane fuel you will do damage. But if you have a 91 octane setup and run 93 fuel you are just spending more money for octane you don't need.

The computer for safety will retard timing, etc if you put in lower than 91 fuel as part of the knock sensor, but I have just not heard anything to lead me to believe that the computer will adjust upwards.

Again, I am no expert so if I am incorrect, or if someone has proven different, then please share.
________
MAGIC FLIGHT LAUNCH BOX REVIEW

Last edited by kramsay1234; 04-06-2011 at 02:19 AM.
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-07-2007, 07:39 AM